• Follow On Twitter

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other subscribers

The Day After the Day After

After I blogged on Friday about my knees hurting from the monster workout, I was sure things would look up, even though trapped in the deep recesses of my mind was the knowledge that the second day after a big workout is always the worst.

The pain in my knees subsided long enough for the muscle ache to set in, which is to say I thought I might not be able to get out of bed this morning. I’ve seriously contemplated camping out at Wendy’s or McDonald’s just to get easy access to a handicapped toilet. I normally pee about every half hour and there is no easy way to plop down, let alone get up, from our low profile porcelain god without worrying about cracking the seal at the base.

I think I could endure the discomfort if it was just sore muscles. It is after all somewhat gratifying (yes, I know that sounds ridiculous) that I hurt in the places that I know I need to work, but it should be against the law to hurt this much. It was worse today than yesterday, but I managed to get up and ride my exercise bike and I went shopping with a friend. Both of which had more to do with the fact when I lay still, I get stiff, which makes the pain worse.

I think I crossed a line and it hurt in ways that are not healthy. The ankle that I had scoped and scraped a few years ago and my knee that endured an ACL replacement are swollen and sore, which are pretty good indications that I went too far. It just makes me mad at myself. What was I thinking? I guess I wanted to look like the hot skinny chick who wasn’t dodging front and center, next to that sado-masochist trainer on Friday and who was one of the few able to actually keep up with him. Hello, I’ve never been 5’10” and 125 pounds like that woman in her little black leotard. It would be easier for me to try to grow a penis. Hop on the reality truck, Melissa.

Yes, I want to be more comfortable in my own skin, but Friday reminded me that there are also safety considerations at hand. As much as I hate to admit it, I am not 20 anymore, nor can I pretend to be, which also makes me wonder how in the hell people in the same class with at least 20 years on me are feeling this weekend. Insanity.

I don’t know what the answer is, but I need to regroup. I ended up eating a bunch of candy this afternoon and a bowl of crappy-ass sugary cereal, and I know that was just an attempt to try to feel good. S-T-U-P-I-D. Tomorrow, it’s me and hippy yoga chick at my noon-time workout. That’s about the speed I need right now. Maybe the deep breathing and calming music will bring me a little clarity.

Do any of you who have health issues (like bad knees) work out with a personal trainer, and have you had any luck yielding good results working within limitations?

4 Responses

  1. My mom has a bad knee and we work out with a trainer once a week. Not because of the knee. But the trainer is very aware of it. As is my mom. IMO all trainers are not created equal so be sure you find one who is certified, and some specialize in things like injuries.

  2. I definitely can’t do the same things with all my extra weight that I could before. And now, even as I lose, it will be different because I’m older. (boo hoo). I’m still imagining feeling the way I did when I was young and fit and I guess it won’t be quite that way.
    I agree with karen that you should find the right trainer. A good one will know not to push to hard on an injury. Also, I think we have to educate ourselves enough to know when to say, “no”. Just like going to a doctor. We need to learn to advocate for ourselves, get what we need and make sure that we’re heard.
    I hope you feel better soon.

  3. Karen – good pointers. I would have never thought about asking for a trainer that specializes in things like injuries. Thanks

  4. Teresa – I agree with you too. I’m not good at saying no when I’m in these group fitness settings. I get too competitive, but you are absolutely right, I need to advocate for myself…it doesn’t mean I’m being a weany – I’m taking care of me.

Leave a comment