• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Holding Back Valentine’s Day Excitement

No, the peas aren’t for dinner. We keep bags of frozen peas in stock as ice packs. They mold perfectly around swollen areas. I’m not sure when we discovered this; it could have been when Lyle had his vasectomy. (Brrrrr and a new mental image of blue balls – sorry I couldn’t resist. Hope I didn’t scar you for life.) Maybe it was after my ACL surgery. Whatever. I’ve pulled the bags back out since my knees still hurt and are swollen from the Friday Madness.

I feel dramatically better, but I don’t anticipate any dancing to celebrate Valentine’s Day. I plan to just lay low and take it easy. It sucks getting old, and I hate it when my body reminds me of the fact. Also, after my altercation with sugar yesterday, it was hard to get back to business, but so far so good.

As I got ready to post this, Lyle walked in and presented me with some potted tulips and a small insulated French press coffee maker. I love my man, and he knows me well. OK, he also brought me a few Lindor truffles, but for a treat, they aren’t too awfully bad – 2 WW PP each.

What’s your plan for Valentine’s Day? Did you treat yourself to anything special? If you opted to indulge, what’s the plan for tomorrow? Hope the day brought you everything you hoped and more. Cherio!

2 Responses

  1. We use peas too! I have funny photos of my son from when he had his wisdom teeth pulled with a bag on each side of his face held on with a scarf tied at the top.

  2. Your poor knees! And I agree, peas are wonderful ice packs.

    Good for you for taking time to re-group and come up with a new approach. The main thing is to keep moving!

Leave a Reply

