• Follow On Twitter

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other subscribers

Curry Lentil and Turkey Soup

Curry + Lentils = Yum


This soup was a total experiment. I had some leftover turkey, and I made some stock for the soup. I was tired of noodles, rice and barley so I opted for some lentils. Wow, I loved it and the picture doesn’t do it justice. Feel free to use canned chicken and chicken broth if you don’t want to make your own stock with a turkey carcass. If you do want to make your own stock, check out the early blog recipes under the category section. I have several listed there.

3 quarts turkey stock
1 ½ cup dry lentils
1 c. low-fat or non-fat plain yogurt
1 cup shredded leftover turkey
1 cup peeled and sliced carrots
1 ½ tsp. sweet curry powder
½ tsp. ground cumin
1/8 tsp. smoked paprika
1/8 tsp. onion powder
1/8 tsp. garlic powder
2 Tbs. lemon juice
½ – 1 tsp. salt

Bring stock to boil and stir in yogurt until smooth. Add the rest of the ingredients and cook for about 35 minutes until lentils are tender.

Lyle didn’t appreciate the soup, but he is not a curry fan. The next time I make this, I’m going to add chopped onion and fresh garlic, and I might even throw in a package of frozen chopped spinach.

A cup serving is approximately 2 Points on WW.

Leave a comment