• Follow On Twitter

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other subscribers

Birthday Wishes

Insomnia got the best of me last night. I had difficulty falling asleep then I woke with thoughts percolating through my mind as if coffee already coursed through my veins.

I ignored the clock for a while hoping I would doze off again. I tried meditating, snuggling up to Lyle, cranking up the air conditioning. Nothing helped. I ended up rousing Lyle, who generously rubbed my shoulders and back that still feel like big honkin’ marbles reside there left from the remnants of the pinched nerve in my neck.

I finally gave up and got out of bed about 4:20 a.m. I made a fresh pot of coffee and sat down with my journal. I like the scratch of the pen across the paper, the hum of the refrigerator and central air in a quiet house. I suppose there are worse ways to spend my time – that will be reserved for 3 p.m. today when I’m driving home from Columbus dozing off behind the wheel of my car in the middle of a construction zone. Where’s good public transportation when you need it?

There’s always more coffee or a nap later, but first I need to plan something special for Lyle. It’s his birthday today; he’s 47. Shit, we’re getting old, well, him older than me, but still we met when we were teens. That just doesn’t seem possible. Today when I woke up, I really liked him, which is good – it will be much easier to be nice to him on his birthday.

Truly, I love this man with my entire being. There is no other person in my life who knows me better and loves me like he does, which I fully realize is no easy task. Hell, some days I’d even like to escape from me. I’m blessed to have him in my life. Now, I just need to figure out a good way to express it.

His official present was a Father’s Day/birthday combo, a kayak, but everyone should still have a special “day.” I’m sure if asked, he would like nothing more than all-day sex. I was thinking more along the lines of cake.

I’m sure there is a compromise in there somewhere. Sex, steak and beer? Crank the Grateful Dead over the lake and push him out on a raft or the kayak, and I think that may round out a nearly perfect birthday for him.

I think I’ll still want some cake.

2 Responses

  1. Okay – I am laughing about the sex. That must be a universal guy thing for all celebrations. How sweet that you have been together so long and are still so in love. Lucky you and lucky Lyle.

  2. It ended up being a nice day, but it was freaking hot here so I didn’t feel like cooking a nice dinner at the end of the day, but he did get the sex, raft and beer part so I think he could say it was a good day!

Leave a comment