• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Haunted Tomato Jungle

20110803-072812.jpg

Anyone know what I’m hosting on my tomato plants, and is there an environmentally friendly way to get rid of it without killing the plant? It looks like some kind of egg, which I really don’t want to hatch only to feast on my tomatoes. Most days, I don’t mind sharing, but I prefer to choose the recipients, and I certainly don’t want the little beasts taking over. The tomatoes are coming on fast and furiously and I’m not ready to give in so your suggestions would be appreciated.
20110803-072844.jpg

20110803-072909.jpg

20110803-072925.jpg

I picked seven pounds of tomatoes this evening, yum! Should I share?
20110803-072917.jpg

Lyle created a trellis this year for the tomatoes to climb. It seemed like a good idea until I had to get down on my belly to crawl through the cavern. I felt like a soldier in the muddy jungle trenches of Vietnam. I just kept hoping my neighbors weren’t at their kitchen window watching my ass hiked up in the air waggling back and forth as I tried to scooch in as far as possible.

20110803-072936.jpg

You can’t have tomatoes without basil, which is also taking on forest-like qualities.

20110803-072945.jpg

Brussel sprouts, anyone? It’s the first year I’ve grown them, and they seem to take up an inordinate amount of space. Hopefully, they’ll be worth it.

One Response

  1. i wish I lived near you to share the bounty!

Leave a Reply

