• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Synchronicity in Sunshine

20110522-092240.jpg

Synchronicity. God. Open mind. It doesn’t matter.

I was walking through the park yesterday afternoon by myself as was intended. I fought the notion of making a date with myself as prescribed in The Artist’s Way, and the most daring thing I managed to muster was an hour in the sunshine at Antrim Park.

When I began the walk, I told myself it was stupid. I did after all live in a more serene place than this little urban lake nestled beside a busy highway. As I walked though, I realized this place didn’t come with any dirty dishes or cranky teens or vacuum cleaners. Distractions emptied from my head.

I’ve struggled with my weight for the past year. Life has been filled transitions and hectic schedules and too many excuses.

The walk gave me an opportunity to tune into me, which I realized I’ve been doing sporadically at best. I reflected on what was different when I began this journey to what seems to bog me down today. Benches surrounded the path I walked, memorials of sort, sprinkled with words of wisdom from loved ones long gone, but remembered on the little tarnished plaques. I approached a bench calling my name…

“Life was never meant to be a struggle, just a gentle progression from one point to another, much like walking through a valley on a sunny day.”
-Stuart Wilde

If I rush from one place to the next, I lose track of a lot, and I fail to open my mind and soul to this peaceful place. Everything suffers.

One hour, actually it took less than that to see what I’ve been missing. I’m worth an hour; aren’t you?

Leave a Reply

