• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Speedy and Spicy Dinner

20110501-082352.jpg

I almost didn’t take a picture of this meal because I was embarrassed by the quantity of food on the plate, but if you check it out closely, you will notice it’s half full of veggies.

Weekends have been tough for me lately so I wanted to make sure I ate satisfying meals. We ate lunch on the late side; no one was home when I wanted to eat dinner so I snacked on some Kashi cereal. When Lyle and Russell arrived, I wasn’t hungry so we delayed yet again.

I started nibbling on pretzels that Lyle left out and then looked up at the clock and realized it was pushing 7:30 p.m. Holy crap, where did the time go? I started skulking around the kitchen and eyed Russell’s Poptarts. Normally, they don’t taunt me – too many empty calories, but my resolve was quickly fading as true hunger rumbled in my gut.

Tensuke came to my rescue. I visited the little Japanese market yesterday to treat myself to some carry out sushi, which I ate on the spot. While I meandered around the store, I found some kimchee and chuka ikansansai (pickled squid) and dropped it in my basket along with some brown sushi rice.

I knew I would gnaw off my arm or eat the entire box of Poptarts if I waited for rice to cook so I whipped up some whole wheat couscous to accompany my little Asian feast. The green beans are staples in my house, and also make a great dish to take to a potluck. From thought to table it took 10 minutes – my kind of meal.

What do you like to throw together in a hurry when you are too hungry to plan a meal?

2 Responses

  1. Excellent post today! I really enjoyed it. I enjoy making great food for my family and friends when they come over for entertainment. Food can also be entertaining in itself. Thanks again for sharing this.

    A Delicious Coffee Roll Recipe

  2. For me, a flatbread pizza. My hubby and teen can fend for themselves:)

Leave a Reply

