• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

R-Rated Eating, Bye-Bye

I’m in a worry place. It’s what happens when I eat sugar. Worry and bitch, not the two most flattering things to embrace in one’s behavior.

I wasn’t crazy with food this weekend, but I chose to hang out with two-year-old Melissa, the demanding little toddler who wants and wants and wants and whines until she gets it.

Yes, I practiced portion control, but did I really need the PB&J (and cheese crackers) at 8:30 last night? The shrill little toddler apparently thought so. It was after all fresh-from-the-store white bread, the kind that sticks to the roof of your mouth when you take the first bite. She knows how much I love the stuff and how infrequently I allow myself to indulge. I’ve apparently put her to bed early on many nights to prevent her from seeing the R-rated eating.

The problem was not the PB&J or the crackers or the handful of jelly beans (OK two) or the candied almonds or even the glass of beer. Had any of these items been spread out through the week, I would have thought it was a fine way to build in little treats; however, it all plunked to the bottom of my gut in the same 24-hour period. Cramming it all into one day is like keeping a real toddler juiced up on energy drinks, M&Ms and Kraft Macaroni and Cheese and not letting her sleep it off when the crash arrives. Set the tyrannical toddler loose to see the path of destruction.

The objective this week is time out – for both of us. Perhaps I need to introduce the little girl to the woman I am (and want to be). Maybe if they take some time together, they’ll discover there is room for both of them. I could use some fun-loving spontaneity and the ability to prioritize and implement a plan of action all in one vessel.

So, I’m acknowledging my little tantrum. I’m not going to stuff it down with more food, and this week I’m going to employ distraction and delayed gratification techniques to my bag of tricks, oh yea and some deep breathing.

What methods do you roll out to get back on track?

5 Responses

  1. I can only say that I totally relate!
    I hope your week goes really well.
    For myself… I seem to find lots of ways to get back on the track, but slide right back off. It’s gripping action I need.
    Still working on it.

  2. Gripping action…I like the sound of that! Good luck to you too!

  3. My toddler is out RIGHT NOW! I read your blog earlier today, and I’m reading it again now to gain the power to just say NO. It doesn’t help that here in Brazil, Easter means CHOCOLATE, especially “give chocolate to your teacher who loves it” – so I have a huge amount of quality stuff sitting on my table. I’m going off to count my points for the day – that’s often a good sanity-inducing thing.

  4. I think the worst part about the chocolate is that it just keeps giving – cravings and more cravings. It’s really hard to detox from it. Good Luck and maybe give the rest of the chocolate to another teacher who will love it even more than you! 🙂

  5. My tried-and-true way to get back on track is to write down what I’m eating. I turn it into a game, of sorts, to see how cleanly I can eat. (Not very, usually, but I can get pretty darned close most days.:))

Leave a Reply

