• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Naked in the Locker Room – Too Tired to Care

I’ve spent the last couple weeks trying to get my shit together and remember to just breathe. Fingers crossed, I think I’m back on a level surface again, and exercise may be to blame, uh credit.

I lost track of the times that I’ve blogged about the correlation of a piss-poor attitude to the lack of exercise. Admitting it once again irritates the hell out of me, but one of these days, I’ll remember how I used to embrace it and make a little headway forward.

Fingers crossed, I may be on the path. Out of the last two weeks, I’ve put in some fairly serious exercise every day except on each Saturday. I may have also found the key to being comfortable standing naked in the locker room – a personal trainer. Believe me; it has nothing to do with the fact I see dramatic results yet. I’m simply too fucking tired after our sessions to care who sees my saggy ass and boobs.

I even caught myself bending down sans grunders, which makes me shutter to visualize as I write, but it seemed like a perfectly logical thing to do when I was trying to muster up the energy to take off my socks after a 30-minute session with little Miss Buff Biceps.

Actually, the sessions with the trainer are going quite well. She is very cognizant of the issues I have concerning my knees and ankles, and I think the workouts with her will pay dividends to my overall stability, which will hopefully help prevent further injury. I also work a lot harder for her than I would at home on a stationary bike seven days a week. Heaven forbid I disappoint the women I met a week and a half ago. Whatever, it seems to work, and it’s kind of fun.

I say that now. Saturday if you would have asked me, I would have said I’d rather have the dentist drill a hole through the roof of my mouth into my brain to funnel out any gray matter left up there, which wouldn’t have been much given my diminished state.

Really, it’s much better now. I’m going twice a week, Wednesday and Friday. I’m a little sore from yesterday, but it’s manageable, and I was able to make it through her entire shtick, and I only longingly looked at the clock once.

So, the exercise is back on track, and the variety feels good. Pilates on Monday, elliptical on Tuesday/Thursday, trainer on Wednesday/Friday and stationary bike and resistance work on Sunday. Surely, I’ll see the desired payoff soon.

What does your fitness routine look like?

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for writing. It is a stable place in an out of control life.

  2. Thanks Maryann. I hope things calm down for you. Remember to take care of yourself – you deserve it.

Leave a Reply

