• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Agenda? Forget About It

Yesterday, I had planned to take off by myself with a camera, but we needed to shop for dishwashers, which was oh so much more fun. But you see, our dishwasher had developed a bad case leprosy; pieces and parts were falling off on a daily basis, and it had also developed an aversion to actually cleaning the dishes.

Shopping for appliances generally induces colorful arguments in the Fast household, but Lyle had done all the research, and even though he ruined my plans, ah, surprised me with a new opportunity, it went pretty well. He had all the places plotted where we needed to compare prices, and then I took care of negotiations. We are the proud owners of a shiny new dishwasher to be delivered this coming week.

Since I didn’t get to do my thing yesterday, I set out today with a camera fully intending to take pictures of barns. Don’t ask me why I felt the need to shoot barns, but it was between that and cemeteries. (I think I was channeling my Gram on that one.) I did sneak into one cemetery and saw this – hoping no one is on the run.


I didn’t have much luck with the barns, but once I got home I did manage to take some photos of an orchid plant that I received for my birthday in February. It’s a small miracle the thing is still alive given my track record with house plants. When my friend gave it to me, I thanked her profusely and promised to try not to kill it. That was the most I had hoped. I really only gave it about a two-week chance, but for now it’s thriving. See for yourself.

It was good to take an afternoon and simply do something for me without a timeline or any real agenda. What do you like to do for fun?

Leave a Reply

