• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Monumental Monday

Woo Hoo, I made it. What a day – one of those that I needed to remind myself on more than one occasion that breathing was not optional.

It was the first day back to work after being gone last week – with three scheduled meetings to boot; however, I take a moment to salute myself… I didn’t so much as contemplate eating a side of beef to stuff the stress and I even got all my “A” items checked off my to do list. I still secretly kinda miss the days of my paper Franklin Planner – I’m sure there have to be a few of you out there who remember them. Yea I know, total old school, but there was just something a wee bit gratifying about that organizing system that spoke to my compulsive-disturbed-list-making self.

I was a little worried on my way home this evening because I managed to leave the office without my ride-time snack since I rushed out to get to the BMV before they closed and my driver’s license expired. I thought I had the entire month of February to renew, but the security dude at the airport last week was quick to inform me that it would expire on my birthday. Happy Birthday to me tomorrow, and ha, I didn’t have to pay the BMV one extra red cent.

I even came home and hopped on my stationary bike because I missed my lunch-time workout (probably because I was concentrating too hard on breathing). Afterward, I scooped out some yummilicious pot roast and potatoes from the crock pot and sautéed some frozen veggies and was good to go for a quick meal. It was a quiet one since Lyle and Russell hadn’t made it home yet… that was another frustration that I didn’t eat my way through since Lyle should have picked the boy up two hours ago. Whatever, a box of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese isn’t going to change that. It’s a sad state of affairs when boxed mac and cheese is the most tempting item in your house… apples and bananas just don’t hold the same allure.

I’m wondering if my re-commitment to exercise plays a role in my successful day. It’s been a good six weeks of regular, moderate to intense (for a 45-year-old woman – yikes, the last day I’m going to be able to say that) workout. It feels good physically, but the emotional pay off is even bigger. I still don’t enjoy the workout per se, but the benefits are beginning to pay off again. I’m starting to recall why it had been such an integral part of my life.

So, here’s to the rest of a Happy Monday, breathe in, breathe out. How was the beginning of your week?

4 Responses

  1. My end to last week was horrible, but it’s looking up for this week. 🙂

    I hope you have a GREAT birthday!

  2. Jennifer,

    I read your blog and tried to post a comment. I still can’t post comments there…not sure what’s going on. I hope you are recovering from your awful week. Hang in there.

    thanks for the birthday wishes.

  3. I loved my Franklin Planner! I’d probably still buy them if they didn’t cost so much. Now I use a small notebook, and it’s working for me.

    Good for you for rocking your plan! I find exercise to be an awesome coping technique for life. 🙂

  4. Yeah, the Franklin Planners were crazy expensive. They had an electronic version for a while, but it just wasn’t the same.

Leave a Reply

