• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

No Canine Lessons Today

There are some days that I look to my beagle and glean great insight. I used her as my inspiration when I decided what I wanted to achieve in the coming year. If you missed it, read more.

There are other days, like today, that I’m happy that I’m not a butt-sniffing, foot-licking, cat-chasing, furry beast. I let Sonya out of her crate this evening and she happily ran outside to do her business; ran back in and inhaled all her food like a Dyson mighty vac and then disappeared. Poof, gone. It was to the point that I was calling her name as I wandered from room to room, and our house isn’t that big. I was getting a little worried. Twice, I went in and out of our bedroom, which she knows better than to even enter.

I was getting ready to pull out the big guns, the cellophane package of turkey, which I swear she can hear crinkle from three miles away, when I heard crunching in the corner of my bedroom. I walked over to Lyle’s side of the bed and peered down to see her greedily eating Fisherman’s Friend’s lozenges. Yuck, I had a hard time sucking on the chalky rank, licorice-flavored disks when I thought I was dying of bronchitis, and there she was wolfing them down like it was the hind leg of a prize-winning steer at the Nebraska State Fair.

I swear the dog must share the genetic makeup of a goat. She will eat absolutely anything, I mean anything. After I pried the remaining lozenges from her mouth, I found her eating some of Russell’s graph paper. Geez, I thought I got desperate during my grazing sessions, but that dog could eat her way through a gravy train faster than I could even grab my first plate at an all-you-can eat dessert buffet.

It did make me think about my eating habits of late. They’ve been very balanced and controlled and unobsessed – I don’t think that is even a word, but it fits. Food has been just that, food; something to nourish my body, and in many cases since I haven’t been feeling all that great, I haven’t even wanted to eat. I simply wanted to unhungry. It’s quite a conundrum, given the fact that food probably flashes through my mind on an hourly basis. Maybe that’s an exaggeration, but I have to say that it’s been nice lately for food to be a non-issue.

While I’m ready to say so long to this freaking cold, I have to say that I’m hoping a little of my attitude toward food lingers around a while.

How often do you think of food, and on the days that you are thinking about it a lot, what seems to be the biggest trigger?

3 Responses

  1. I think about it a lot. I don’t like that I do. It seems not “normal” to me. I am sure I was not always this way and would love to figure out how to change!

  2. If I’m thinking about food when I’m not hungry or not researching recipes, you can bet I’m either bored or procrastinating. When I’m busy and productive, I don’t even remember to eat until my stomach revolts.

  3. Karen – good to know I’m not alone…unfortunately, I don’t think we’re the only ones. I’m gonna keep working on it.

    Cammy – yeah, procrastinating is a time that I reach for food too…had neve really thought about that until you mentioned it. I love the days that I don’t think about it until my stomach revolts…those times just don’t happen nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

