• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Stocked Up and Ready to Go

The Fast family broke quarantine today to venture out to
the grocery store. I figured it was probably safe for the general
public given we have all been fever-free for several days now.

I generally like to keep a pretty well-stocked kitchen so it took a
while to deplete our rations, but when I started contemplating how
edible the shriveled up grapes at the bottom of the fruit keeper in
the fridge would be, I knew it was time to hit the market.

I still feel a little less than 100 percent, but tons better than I did
just a few days ago. I was tempted to bypass the store today, but I
was afraid of what might happen if I decided to wing it for a few
more days. I feel good that I replenished provisions so that I can
be successful the rest of the week.

Here are a few of my favorites:


I try to keep bags of these frozen veggies at my fingertips. Tossed with some olive oil and a variety of seasonings, they bulk up any meal.


Fresh fruit is always in reach. I know it has to be hauled from miles and miles away in the winter, but I have a hard time living without it.

I think I’m ready to go for the week – yogurt, cottage cheese, fruits and veggies.


This Kashi is one of my favorite varieties – it’s packed full of protein and fiber, and it’s sweet to boot.

What does a well-stocked kitchen look like to you?

3 Responses

  1. I’m a fruit-a-holic too. As long as I have fruit, fresh veggies, yogurt, tuna, bread, almonds, and peanut butter, I’m satisfied I can weather almost any storm. As long as it’s over within a week so I can get to some fro-yo. 🙂

  2. Fruit – yep. Sent my husband out for more for me. Frozen veggies too, are a must.

  3. I forget sometimes how much I take for granted fresh fruit and veggies. I may scrimp on a lot, but that is one area that I definitely indulge. My son has a healthy appetite for it as well. He was quite insulted years ago when he was in fourth grade and went on a school outdoor adventure camp, and they were served CANNED pears. You would have thought they made him eat the owl pellets they were dissecting!

Leave a Reply

