• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Ten Minutes, Five Ingredients, Savory Meal

If you have 10 minutes, a pork roast and four other simple ingredients, you have a feast in the making. I’ve determined that Wednesdays are a good day to use the crock pot. Basically because my resolve starts to wane midweek, and if the smell of a mostly complete dinner greets me at the door when I walk through, I stand a pretty good chance to make it through to the next morning.

The pictures don’t do this recipe justice, but the pork is moist, pulls apart with a fork and is just the savory thing you need after a long day. As soon as I walked in, I threw a bag of frozen mixed veggies in a pan with some asian seasoning, a teaspoon of sesame oil and some soy. I changed my clothes while they were cooking, let the dog out, fed the cat and then sat down to a satisfying meal.

Very little thought was involved, which was good since I arrived home late tonight. Give it a shot and let me know what you think.

1 lean pork roast (I used two tenderloins today)
1 16 oz. jar of sugar-free apple butter
1 Tbs. Rosemary
1/2 Tbs. Kosher Salt
1 cup water

Before Photo - I promise it's easy and tasty.

Crush Rosemary and Kosher salt – I like to use a mortar and pestle. The salt really helps break down the rosemary. Put the pork roast in the crock pot and sprinkle rosemary and salt over the pork roast; pour the apple butter over top. I use an apple butter that has been sweetened with juice instead of sugar. Add about a cup of water to the empty jar to swoosh out all the goodies, and pour it in the bottom of the crock pot. Cook on low, ignore for 8-10 hours and enjoy!

I wish the photo could capture the aroma. This will be a family favorite.


It took me longer to write down the instructions than it did to get it ready and then serve it up in the evening….that’s my kind of dinner.

4 Responses

  1. Glad you are back!

  2. Glad to be back. I hope you are well.

  3. I tried the pork roast with Apple Butter last weekend . You had mentioned it in a previous meeting. I loved it !!! We used the left overs for pulled pork sandwiches the next day. On light bread of course… Thanks for the recipe it was really good.

  4. Kathy, I’m glad you liked it…it is so easy, and I love it on sandwiches too. We made our leftovers into shredded taco meat – that was pretty tasty.

Leave a Reply

