• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Balance This

Today has been a pretty good day. I still feel a little sluggish from the last part of the weekend when I over indulged, but some activity and mindful eating helped move me in a positive direction.

I think a lot of that can be traced back to the fact that on Sunday, my only veggie consumption, while green, came in the form of crinkle-cut pickle slices and some Burger King French fries. Hell, while I’m at it, I just realized that my burger had some lettuce and a tomato slice, and I can’t forget the soggy onion. I did after all have the Whopper My Way. I wonder how many actors singing the slogan “Have it your way; have it your way,” will end up having massive coronaries?

I don’t eat fried crap much anymore. Like sugar, it does wicked things to me, and coupled with Satan in the granular form, which was the case on Sunday, it provided enough momentum to send me in a huge downward spiral had I allowed myself to succumb to the vortex.

Fortunately, I regrouped and was back on track with a workout Sunday morning, and I’m now cussing a Pilates and yoga teacher as I sit trying not to flex my core muscles as I write this. Is it sacrilegious to cuss a yogi? There was a sub today so I don’t think that counts, but I hope I didn’t just seal my fate as a dung beetle in my next life.

I have enjoyed the classes at the YMCA and I like going on my lunch hour. Well actually, I like that exercise can be checked off my list by noon or 1 p.m. It does make for a really quick day, and it’s nice getting away from my desk for a while. The only downside is that I’ve been eating lunch at my desk, but I’ve been doing that for most of the past three years so there isn’t much change there. At least with a lunch-time workout, I get a break and I don’t feel quite so guilty about taking it since I’m also doing something positive for myself.

I’m not always sure how to best balance work, home, exercise, motherhood, recreation and everything else that bombards me on a daily basis, but I suppose I have to start somewhere and this seems as good of place as any. How about you? How do you make it all work?

4 Responses

  1. I miss pilates and yoga:( I had only just gotten into the groove when I broke my arm last spring. Haven’t gotten my ass back yet. And right now I can’t do any core work until after I get a stupid hernia repaired and recuperate. Sigh.

  2. I’m really sorta enjoying it – well, at least the variety. I took a Zumba class today, and while I feel like a total clutz, it was a good work out and pretty fun.

    Good luck with the hernia!

  3. Pilate’s is wonderful and I got amazing results.
    Unfortunately I am still trying to figure out how to balance it all. I have really let myself go over the last year. I am a hairstylist and sometimes fitting lunch in between clients is impossible. Sometimes I won’t even eat until I get home and I end up most of the time stopping at fast food. And the last thing I want to do after standing on my feet all day is exercise.

    I did manage to get myself up yesterday morning and did one of my Slim in 6 dvds,,,,boy it kicked my ass…i barley made it 45 min….today I am going for the full hour. =)

  4. It is definitely hard to take care of ourselves, but we gotta do it…I get off track at times, but I know that no one else is standing in line to do it for me, ugh.

Leave a Reply

