• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

What’s the Plan, Man?

Thanksgiving is just a few short days away, and I’d love to hear about how you plan to get through the day. Post a comment – let’s get a conversation started here. Will this day set the tone for the next few weeks until the New Year for good or bad?

Holidays are stressful – family gatherings, expectations, food, work, disrupted schedules, food, long days, and did I mention food?

I’ve experienced quite a few Thanksgivings since losing weight, some more successful food wise than others. Since I find myself at a higher number on the scale than I find tolerable, I want to make sure that I lay down some strategies that will see me through a successful holiday season.

We enjoy a Thanksgiving meal with a large family gathering, like many people. Fortunately, it is at someone else’s home so I can leave much of the temptation behind, but I’ve been known on occasion to do quite a bit of damage in a relatively short period of time so I need to come up with some additional tools.

I know from one year to the next what the menu will look like, so I’m planning to bring a few things that will help me navigate rough waters. I also know that I need to allow for a couple special treats. For me that means dessert and mashed potatoes, odd combination perhaps, but it’s what I like. I’ll provide a big tossed salad, veggie platter and a fruit tray, alongside turkey and a baked sweet potato, which I pop in the oven when no one is looking. These items will be the mainstay of my meal.

Mashed potatoes may seem like a weird thing to covet, but I never eat them, mainly due to the fact that my immediate family doesn’t like them (there is something just wrong there) and I can’t trust myself with an entire pot. I will offer to mash the spuds before we sit down to dinner so I can prepare them exactly the way I really like – smothered in butter, real butter and lots of it. I’m not ashamed to admit this because my plate will first be filled with healthy choices leaving a small space for a scoop of heaven.

I plan to go through the buffet after everyone else so that I can slow the process down a little – no oinking everything down before everyone else gets a chance to make it to the table.

Desserts are always plentiful and I plan to try our family favorites – pumpkin pie and cherry delight, but I’ve already decided that anything that I try must fit on one dessert plate and there must be white space between each item. I’m eating pretty light this week and keeping an honest tracker, which will also set the stage for a successful gathering.

So, how do you plan to manage? Please share your thoughts.

5 Responses

  1. I plann to eat whatever I want in moderation, trying not to overdo things. Fingers crossed.

  2. You beat me on this post, as I was thinking very similar thoughts! In fact, I had pre-typed tomorrow’s blog post and had it “scheduled” to post tomorrow in case I wasn’t in front of the computer or remembered to initiate it myself.

    Anyway, yes, mashed potatoes and desserts are also my weakness at Thanksgiving. And, like Karen, my plan is to sample everything I want to sample, but plan on having spoonful or quarter-cup-sized servings of those items.

    I like your idea to make sure there is white space between everything on the plate. I think that makes sense for the meal AND the dessert plates. There are so many things available to try that if we keep in mind the notion of white space, that will force us to keep the portions small. (I wonder how TALL I can make my mashed potatoes plate real estate?) ha ha, just kidding!

    And, no going back for second plates. If it doesn’t fit on the first plate, I’m not going to get it. It might mean that I have to have only one potato or one starchy thing. However, it is also about making good decisions. A dinner roll, for example… that takes up a lot of plate space but it is also not one of the more tasty options. So, I’ll skip it.

  3. I have cut back on how much I am serving. I don’t want left overs for a week that are tempting me. My husband decided it would be wonderful to bring me home a pumpkin pie from Sams Club. Those are huge .. I am the only one who eats it. I am going to bring it to work tomorrow . I did have 1 piece. I do love it . It was just wrong for him to do that.

  4. I agree whole heartedly with the both of you.

    Deprivation will kill the plan and overdoing it is just as deadly.

    I think I’m also going to add – take a walk.

    Good luck.

  5. Kathy, I can relate to the pumpkin pie dilemma. I made them from scratch – even homemade crusts. I was at my dad’s. They wanted me to make 4 pies. Fine, but I refused to take the leftovers. Glad it was at someone else’s house.

Leave a Reply

