• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Whipped Cauliflower with Thyme and Garlic

I like cauliflower, but I get tired of eating it steamed, and my family gets so tired of being around me after I eat it raw. Since I grabbed a head from my garden yesterday (or it’s cheap now in the stores), I wanted to find another use for it. Here is my spur of the moment concoction:

Whipped/Mashed Cauliflower
1-2 tsp. olive oil
1/4 tsp. minced garlic
½ tsp of thyme
2 cups Cauliflower (more or less also works)
1/4 c water
2 Tbs low-fat Greek Yogurt
Salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil and add herbs and garlic to lightly brown. Add the cauliflower and water to steam. Cook over medium heat until tender (about five minutes). Drain a little of the water and add yogurt, salt and pepper. Remove from heat and then mash. I actually dumped mine into the Magic Bullet and zapped it into a very thick puree.

You could probably use fat-free yogurt, but I like the creaminess of the 2% variety and it isn’t quite as tangy as the non-fat yogurt. Did it taste like mashed potatoes? No, but it was a tasty little side dish, and it was a hell of a lot healthier than mashed potatoes.

Give it a shot and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

