• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

I’m Back – Well Sorta

It’s been a rough personal time lately…I was sick for two weeks with bronchitis; Lyle evidently caught whatever I had or is simply exhausted from all long hours at the office recently; Russell wrapped up trimester finals. CRAZY. None of us does very well when we are maxed out for extended periods. I supposed no one really does.

It has been a time of disconnect and I don’t like it. Russell and I finally bonded a bit over a marathon room cleaning episode. He then helped me put away groceries and we watched some TV together. Lyle is grouchy, but I’m sure he would say that I’m not being very sympathetic, which is probably true. It’s just a busy time of year – hard to take care of my needs let alone worry about his.

I have at least been feeling the feelings instead of stuffing Totino’s Pizza Rolls at them. I feel in control with my eating and I think that has to do with the fact that I’m thinking about what I want to fuel my body instead of just cramming it in the pie hole.

I sat down this morning and planned out my week. I wanted to really take an honest look at the potential food obstacles that litter my path so I could develop some strategies – before throwing my arms in the air as Thanksgiving lurks.

I prepared a food list and off I went to the store so I could have some satisfying options easily available. Here is a sampling of what made it into my cart:

Tonight I came home and roasted a chicken, and as I walked out to snip some herbs from the pathetic remnants of my garden, I noticed that the broccoli and cauliflower were finally thriving. I guess they really do thrive in cool weather.

Take a peek for yourself and be on the lookout for a whipped cauliflower recipe tomorrow.

2 Responses

  1. Great job with the eating and feeling:) I don’t try to do a thing with my teen’s room anymore. It is a disaster area. I did ask him to clean it up next weekend when he has the days off school. We’ll see what happens.

  2. Normally I wouldn’t care what his room looked like, but a smell was wafting about that pushed the issue. 🙂

Leave a Reply

