• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Where’s the Joy in White Knuckles?

I’ve been moving along in non-food related areas of my life with quite a bit of gusto. However, the number on the scale was creeping the wrong direction, which didn’t make me happy, and I couldn’t quite figure out what wasn’t clicking. I knew all about the science of in versus out , but what the hell was going on? I seemed to just barely hang on, and definitely not experiencing the results I had been accustomed to when I was in the zone not all that long ago.

Last night was a night to get things in order after being away for a few days, but surprisingly I had a little extra time so I plinked around other’s blogs and hit Lynn’s and it spoke to me as she talked about the joy of this journey. That’s it! Sure, I may have a tasty treat now and again, but mostly I’ve been white knuckling through the deprivation, which leads me to the (fill in the blank) at the first given opportunity.

It’s a squirmy place to find myself, and not squirmy like I’m learning so much here I can hardly wait to continue….more like, oh man, I totally got lost now I gotta find my way back to the path before a bear comes along and gobbles me whole. Could I be missing the joy of all of this?

Then I clicked on Karen’s blog and read a little about the guilt she felt when she returned from a little exercise hiatus. Are these two women residing in my head? It was good to feel in tune with a couple kindred spirits.

This is not an isolated journey, and I can certainly try to muddle through kicking and screaming, but I remember having much more success when I embraced the fact that I am lucky enough to choose a different way – a way that leaves me feeling rejuvenated, full of life and joyful.

Today my goal is to be cognizant of the fact that I have the tools of success at my fingertips – no fanatical grasping necessary. When I choose to take care of myself, it feels good and lasts a whole lot longer than a corndog and fries.

Do you maintain joy? How do you stay motivated?

2 Responses

  1. How pathetic to say that I don’t think about Joy. Hmmm. As for staying motivated, little idea about that either. But right now, the blog world is a huge help.

  2. Hang in there girlie-think about it in little ways perhaps?

Leave a Reply

