• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

No Last Word Here

I need to skip the duct tape this morning and head straight to the gorilla glue. We all woke up about where we left off last night – like badgers that barely escaped a tryst with a pack of angry bears. We all crashed in our respective dens and came out this morning licking our ouchy spots ready for round three.

I feel my shoulders knot up as I write, and I’m simply trying to crank out a blog post so I can walk the dog in peace and hopefully decompress to leave this bad mood behind. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t think it is a good thing to roll out of bed at 5:30 a.m. and need to decompress an hour later.

I already snapped at Lyle as he came out of the bedroom…totally unnecessary. It was one of those quips that sounded as if it should have come from someone else’s lips; at least that was my hope. I apologized and clamped down on my tongue reminding myself that I don’t always need the last word.

No one is out to get the other in the Fast household, but I know in my case that sugar last night certainly complicated my wake up this morning. Yesterday was a crazy day and I wasn’t hungry at regular meal times. I didn’t want to eat when I wasn’t hungry, but then by the end of the day I was famished…not good. I made some less than desirable choices.

Does that ever happen to you? How do you deal with times like these? Do you have go-to things already prepared in your fridge or cupboards just in case? Spontaneity is tripping me up… and this is the kind of thing that I didn’t to have “plan for” before I was working full time. Anyone have any suggestions for prevention techniques? What do you keep in supply for when you come home late, but still need to grab something QUICK? We always have cereal, but even a healthy concoction at the end of a stressful day can set me off. I’d love to hear your suggestions.

3 Responses

  1. Cereal is quite an easy snack (and temptation!) for me. It’s easy. It’s tasty. It’s crunchy and sweet. My favorite is Cinnamon Life, but I’ve also been enjoying any cereal with crunchy flakes and dried berries. (Special K is awesome, but so is Vitality cereal from Aldi with red berries.) The trouble? Sometimes it’s hard to stop at one handful and I end up consuming too much in the line of carbs and sugar. I’ve also been trying to watch my sodium intake a bit more.

    My favorite snack of late, one which I also eat at breakfast (to encourage me to pour a smaller bowl of cereal and still not feel like I’m cheating myself a healthy size meal) is frozen berries. I like fruit of almost all kinds, but keeping it in the house or keeping it fresh is sometimes difficult. The frozen berries are great because they take longer to eat — forcing me to consider exactly what I am eating and to eat more slowly, which is better for digestion. They also help me get enough fiber during the day. They’re pre-sliced (or diced, or otherwise small enough that they don’t require cutting) so they are quick to prepare… just open the bag and pour into a bowl. Grab a spoon and go!

    The only downside? I find myself brushing my teeth much more often. That’s kind of a hassle. My teeth are already far from sparkling white, and popping frozen berries like they’re candy doesn’t help.

  2. My first thought was cereal (good ‘ol Cheerios), but if it sets you off — hmmm …. my mom has a piece of toast. I’ll sometimes have a glass of warm milk and honey or some plain yogurt with granola and a bit of sugar. I’ve had an avocado, apple, banana — those are quick. Oh! A handful of raw nuts (but sometimes hard to stop at a handful).

    Planning is not my strongest feature. I’m working on it. Drinking water during the day does help me make better choices, though.

  3. Yea, I’m trying to remember that planning doesn’t need to be elaborate.

    I did eat some cereal this evening…the key is to measure it out…when I eyeball it, I’m headed down a dark path.

Leave a Reply

