• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Bulgar Tabouli

I love salads that I can prepare and pop in my fridge. The mess happens once and I can eat off the same bowl for days. What a great way to put effective time management into play. You can also substitute whole wheat couscous for this recipe, but it will increase the calorie content a bit.

2 cups dry bulgar wheat (USE 2 ½ – 3 cups as prepared)
1 cup chopped cucumbers
½ small onion
2 tomatoes
1 ½ tsp. minced garlic
Juice from 3 limes or lemons
1 tsp. salt
½ cup chopped parsley (or more)
2 Tbs. plus 1 tsp. Olive oil
Fresh Mint and Basil, optional

Boil two cups of water and add bulgar wheat. Turn off heat and cover for about 45 minutes until water absorbs, or if you’re like me and in a hurry, cover it, leave the stove on and cook for about 15 minutes. Both ways yield the same product.

While the wheat is cooking, chop up the rest of the ingredients. Add bulgar and toss. You don’t even have to wait until it cools, unless you are so inclined. It’s fresh and tart. I eat it as a side or pop it in a pita and eat it as a sandwich. I suppose you could also throw in some tofu if you wanted to add a little more protein.

Nutrition Info: I add enough veggies to double the bulk of the prepared bulgar and I plan for about 5 servings that end up about a cup each. With the healthy oil added, it adds up to about 180 calories, 7 grams of fiber, 5 grams of protein and however many grams of fat in a teaspoon of olive oil…. If that doesn’t make sense, let me know. I have the oil info information somewhere on my computer.

Leave a Reply

