• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Fly Ball

I’d like to say that I caught myself this morning before I got really bitchy. The words tend to fly out of my mouth and the next thing I know, I’m wearing the royal bitch crown.

I caught my own foul ball this morning, but not before the words had already sped from my lips like a fast one whizzing over home plate finding the batter completely ill-prepared. I like to blame the fact that I hadn’t had both morning cups of coffee, but truth be told, I’ve heard myself say worse after I was sufficiently caffeinated, coiffed and headed out the door.

I’ve shared before that I get up at 5:30 a.m. so I can have some me time and do a little writing. I need the quiet time before I start my day. I just wish it didn’t have to take place before the crickets stop singing their ever-so-perky songs.

Well, it’s Tuesday after a long weekend, and I knew it would be hard to rise so I tried to go to sleep a little earlier than usual. As a side note, have any of you ever used the little I Love Lucy sleeping masks to keep out the glow of whatever your partner is watching on TV when it is really too late to be watching said TV? Man, I got one the other day at Kohls, and it totally works! Anyway, I also promised myself that I wouldn’t bump my snooze in the morning. I did it. I was so proud as I dragged my not-so-happy ass from my cozy bed.

As the clock quickly neared 6 a.m. I wondered what time Lyle was planning to rise. He is about the furthest thing away from a morning person as I can imagine. Now that he has PT exercises to do before he gets out the door, it’s amazing he still gets there in time for lunch. He’s always pushed the clock, but now that school is in session and he is Russell’s bus driver, it complicates the matter.

Lyle also packs his own lunch. It saves time on the back end and tons of cash throughout the course of the week. All around he’s a damn good guy so why in the hell did I have to pronounce before he even managed to crawl out of bed, “You know, I don’t get up at 5:30 so I can make your lunch, dude. Remember, you gotta get that done and get Russell to school on time.”

As if I realized how bitchy I was being I said, “I made your coffee.”

Man, I hate it when I catch mean-spirited crap fly out of my mouth. Yea, I know I get up early to have a little me time, but I’m pretty damn sure Lyle didn’t plan to do PT exercises with his me time at 6 a.m.

I got up and quickly made his lunch and packed a snack for Russell after he finishes soccer this afternoon. Yes, we push for independence in our family, but sometimes it’s not about taking care of yourself as much as helping out the next guy. I don’t resent this practice in the work place or in other areas of my life, so I why do I struggle with it in my house. Perspective, I could use a little.

3 Responses

  1. Been there, done bitchy.

  2. I hate it when I hear the venom spew. At least acknowledging it seems to help toward change.

  3. I actually changed the time I got up to avoid my husband’s last minute…$#@&**…I’m late for work routine. Without an audience, it changed.
    I try to keep remembering my part…and thinking about what I can do to change that.

    But, I’d like to add a little note that an 86 year old patient brought to me yesterday…

    Dear Lord,
    So far today, I am doing all right.
    I have not gossiped,
    lost my temper,
    been greedy,
    grumpy, nasty,
    selfish,
    or over-indulgent.

    However,
    I am going to get out of bed in a
    few minutes, and I will
    need a lot more
    help after that. Amen.

Leave a Reply

