• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Where Is Your Cup Today?

The summer is whizzing by and I feel like our family has been in a constant state of injury or recovery. It’s been hard to be the person I really know I should be when I feel pinched from all directions.

I have been trying to focus on mindfulness. I stopped myself from answering e-mail on my walk into the office the other day. Is an iPhone really helping my quality of life?

Yesterday as I walked in our neighborhood with the dog pulling at her leash, I found myself grumbling about all the things I could be doing besides walking my son’s damn dog. But nothing brings a smile to my face quicker these days than looking at Sonya when she wants some love…such a sweet little dog.

Damn, the geese are gathering up already for winter, but isn’t it cool that I get to watch and hear them gathering up the young ones as they teach them flying patterns and how to stay in the flock. It’s like watching a touch and go landing at a small country airfield every day.

The mornings are really cooler than I prefer, but wow, haven’t the days been spectacular in central Ohio? The sunshine, low humidity, pleasant afternoon temperatures. It’s refreshing and rejuvenating.

I hate that my bones and joints feel the time that years of volleyball left behind. My dad always said I would regret abusing my body reaching for the scuffed leather ball before it bounced onto the floor. Yep, that’s one more thing he was right about, but you know, I’m up and around, and there are a lot more people that are in far worse shape than me.

My alarm clock seems to be sounding off earlier and earlier each day… that’s a hard one to come up with a positive. OK – I really thrive on the quiet time when it’s just me, my coffee and my pen.

Cofeeeeee….that always makes me happy and that cup is always half full.

What do you appreciate today?

2 Responses

  1. Well darn – I was with you until that last line. I am sitting here with my eyes killing me – ragweed has done me in. I just want to scratch them out of my face and I can’t think of a darn thing that I appreciate in this moment. Sigh.

  2. Hang in there dear. Zyrtec works pretty good for me.

Leave a Reply

