• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Loco Over Local


Love, love, love summer.

I made an entire dinner out of local ingredients. OK, I might have cheated on the pork; Lyle bought and grilled the tenderloin, so I can’t certify its existence, but everything else either came from my garden or was purchased at Pearl Market or Yutzy’s Farm Market. By the way, I took the photos of the produce on the Pearl Market page. 🙂

I opted for cabbage instead of a salad because it is plentiful and greens have long since burned up in my own garden. Here’s how I cooked it.

½ head cabbage – sliced and chunked up
½ zucchini sliced
1/4 tsp. minced garlic
½ small onion sliced
2 tsp. sesame oil
1 tsp. miso paste
1 Tbs. soy sauce
1 tsp. lemon juice
1 tsp. sesame seeds.

I stirred the miso in the soy sauce so it would liquefy and I threw everything in the pan and heated over high heat. Sometimes I leave it in long enough for the cabbage to lightly brown and caramelize in spots, but I was too hungry to wait for that. The whole process from chopping to eating took about 10 minutes – that’s my kind of food.

I took a piece of leftover corn to lunch the next day, and it was just as tasty as the evening before. The sliced bell pepper and tomatoes are from my garden. It all makes me think I ought to extend the idea into non-summer months??? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

