• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Popular and Wicked Good Time

At the last minute this morning I made plans to go see Broadway Across America WICKED. Wow, what a great show!

I admit I live in a darkened hole most of the time without cable or other forms of popular culture so I really didn’t know much about the show except what could be found on the official WICKED website.

I had planned to get tickets when they first went on sale, but then my gimpy pinched nerve totally trashed June and July. Anyway, last week I found myself writing a blog entry about the show that will be appearing on the Website where I work. I felt a tad bit guilty winging a blog post that about 6000 people read every week when I didn’t even know the story line of the play. Now, I’m hoping when I do one last proof tomorrow that it still sounds fine because quite frankly I was pleased to check that off my to-do list.

Russell and Taka really wanted to go to COSI today so I knew I would be downtown. I got online to see if there were still WICKED tickets available, and was surprised to find them. CAPA is running a lottery that you can get orchestra seats for $25. I called a friend and asked if she was game – we could either take a chance on the lottery or just suck it up and pay full price. Either way, we decided it sounded like a wicked good time and it was!

We didn’t get our happy asses in gear quick enough to try our luck at the lottery and then we got our times confused and missed the first five minutes of the show, but boy once we sat down – a mere 15 rows from the stage, we felt popular and mesmerized for the rest of the afternoon.

Lyle was delighted that he didn’t have to find an excuse not to go, but little did he know I really had no desire to fork over another $100 so we could both go, especially since he would only be going in hopes of scoring later on.

2 Responses

  1. I’ve seen it and really enjoyed it too.

  2. I was really quite surprised how much I liked it. I could totally be a theatre bum. Every time I go I wonder why I don’t go more often – oh, I know…those $100 tickets are a bit intimidating.

Leave a Reply

