• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Life’s a Peach

Summer smells of peaches. They are here for such a short time, and there is no way in hell to get a good one when they are not in season. I suppose that is just as well – gotta do my part I suppose to keep the CO2 in check.

I admit that every year when I see that first basket of peaches I immediately think of peach pie. It makes my mouth water just thinking about it again. Often, I will allow myself the luxury of making a peach pie, but the downside is that I have to have helpers lined up to eat it because I cannot be trusted with leftovers especially if there is ice cream in the freezer. Since the men in the house aren’t that fond of peach pie, which is by the way insane if you ask me, I generally go looking elsewhere.

No one immediately volunteered this summer and I’ve been battling with eating for the wrong reasons so I opted to forgo the pie this year. Instead, I’m opting for some healthy alternatives, which have been working out quite well.

First, you can’t go wrong with simply eating a peach, but I wanted to spice it up a bit. One of my all-time favorites, other than the pie of course, is to slice a peach up and toss it over some Greek Yogurt. I prefer the 2% variety over the fat-free version. It is creamier and I actually believe that I’m eating a bowl of sour cream when I down it. How’s that for emotional appeal?

The new thing I tried this year was grilling peaches. I don’t know why I’ve never done this. Wow, easy and delicious. I first marinated some skinless chicken in a homemade terriyaki with eggplant. I simply sprinkled the peaches with a little cinnamon and poof! One of the best things is that the entire meal, except for the rice was cooked outside so my house stayed nice and cool. Let me know what you think if you try it.

One Response

  1. Grilled peaches sounds yummy. I also love peaches when they are ripe. Although I prefer nectarines. I eat either sliced, out of a bowl. Less mess that way. If I want to add protein I go for cottage cheese.

Leave a Reply

