• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Veggies Galore

I know I gave you a glimpse of my garden a couple weeks ago, but I’m amazed at the magic of hot, humid weather. That and I feel like a proud pappa – I have to show off my offspring!

The cucumbers are gigantic and I’m afraid they are going to take over my house, which will be fine as long as they also assume the mortgage! Staking them seems to really help. I took the photo with the car in the background to give a little perspective. The plants are over five feet high, and the cucumbers are mild and crunchy. I’m getting about three cukes a day from the plants already – my coworkers love them too!

The ichiban eggplants are going like gang busters too. They are great on the grill or sauteed, but I think next year I also need to plant the regular eggplant because the ones I have this year won’t work well in lasagna…still tasty though.

The perennial herbs need a haircut in a big, bad way and the basil is fragrant and tasty. I’m eagerly awaiting the big tomatoes to make an easy and delicious caprese salad.

I planted another couple little rows of lettuce. I hope it comes out as good as the first batch. I know it is a little hot to plant lettuce now, but hell the seed was only $1.60 so I figured I could risk it.

The carrots sprouted, but it takes quite a while for them to mature. I guess it gives us something to look forward to in the fall. The broccoli is good too, but I’m not sure it is worth the space it takes given what it produces, and I have yet to see a head of cauliflower. Peppers – sweet and hot round out the beds. The bell pepper was quite photogenic, looking much mightier in film!

I love fresh veggies. What’s your favorite?

3 Responses

  1. Oh yes that’s tall alright! Happy eating!!!

  2. Tomatoes right off the vine? My sister-in-law is a big gardening blogger. Let me know if you are interested in that type of blog and I will send you her URL.

  3. The cukes are fabulous and have been part of my morning breakfast for the past three days, yum.

    Karen – send me your sil url.

Leave a Reply

