• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Coherent Again


Excuse the pause in blog entries. I’ve been a little under the weather – more like comatose.

I woke up Sunday feeling fine, but by about noon, I felt like I slept on my head giving myself a stiff neck. Instead of taking it easy, I opted for a calm Sunday drive with my 15 ½ – year-old son. Oh, did I mention that was his second day behind the wheel. Hell, my shoulder tenses up just remembering it.

Actually, Russell did fine, but by the time we returned home, my neck and shoulders were one lumpy mess. That’s about when the pain started shooting down my arm. I began munching ibuprofen like they were jelly beans, noticing absolutely no relief.

My men kept asking me if I wanted to go to the ER, but I was bound and determined to make it through one year without an unexpected visit to the hospital. I’m sure you’d never guess that I’m not the most graceful soul in the world. LOL. Annual ER trips are as celebrated as the Fourth of July cookout at our house.

By the time I made it to see the doctor Monday morning I would have taken any drug prescribed or offered in a dark alley as long as it promised to knock me out. The doc loaded me up on prednisone, a muscle relaxer and a pain killer, which explains why I couldn’t blog for four days. I couldn’t even focus long enough to wipe the drool from my chin let alone sit down at my computer and string two coherent thoughts together.

But I didn’t care in the slightest. I’ve never had much success with drugs – I think it was God’s way of helping me avoid drug addiction (unhealthy relationships with food were bad enough). Alcohol and drugs always made me violently ill, but this weekend I didn’t care. It beat the begeebers out of the pain I experienced. I didn’t even try to eat my pain away with chocolate or ice cream – now you know how bad it must have been.

Today I finally returned to work and weaned myself from the drugs, and I made a stop for some acupuncture before heading home. Hopefully, I’m on the mend, but my arm and fingers are still numb, and I can’t pick anything up with my left hand. I guess it will require some follow-up, but at least I feel like I want to get to the other side at this point. There was a time when that was doubtful.

The real question I want answered from any of the brave souls out there: do any of your significant others still suggest sex during times like these? Whatever.

And a little FYI to you… skip the childproof lids when you are experiencing shooting pains from your neck to your finger tips. Gotta go…time for my next dose.

6 Responses

  1. Glad you are feeling better. I missed you!

  2. Oh my goodness. I sure hope that you are able to rest this weekend and begin to feel better.

    To answer your question, I had a very horrible cyst and he did ask in that “so, does that me we are not going to….” kind of way. What are they thinking? Threw pillows his way. That helps.

    Oh my, I will be thinking of you recovering.

  3. Yes, but he has to work for it. I pick the position, it has to be a quickie, and I get some great massages before and after. (I know, I’m a massage whore).

    TMI?

    I hope for your full recovery.

    (Hydrate)

  4. I am glad you are feeling better, and I just wanted to comment on your awesome blog. I recently started my own blog on emotional eating and I have been doing some research into other emotional eating blogs and I have to say yours is top notch. Will be back to visit again!

  5. Thanks for letting me know I’m not the only one in this boat… I like the idea of the pillows maybe add a brick or two…lol

    and no worries about TMI – I’m with ya totally, sista!

  6. Thanks for the compliment Sarah, and I’m glad you checked out my blog. I’m looking forward to checking out your blog too! Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

