• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Successful Endings Lead To Strong Beginnings

My week ends on Friday and the new one begins on Saturday. I know that may seem simple to people who don’t wrestle with weight issues, but it is important to note that I don’t allow “free days.” That’s kinda how I got myself into this last batch of trouble.

I officially weigh in this morning and the scale appears to be moving in a favorable direction, but more importantly, I stayed in control with my eating this week and I kept satisfied.

For WW out there, I followed the Simply Filling technique. For others who simply watch their weight, I basically ate extremely wholesome foods in their natural state and avoided sugar and alcohol. We’re talkin’ cutting edge brain surgery here folks!

Instead of obsessing about food portions, I let my body gauge what I NEEDED….not to be confused with what I wanted because most days I WANT to swim in vats of ice cream smothered in hot fudge sauce. In addition, I WANT to eat entire platters of food – even the healthy stuff. Focusing on true physical signs of hunger lead to success with this technique. It felt good, but now I need to string a whole bunch of those weeks together, but that feels promising as well.

My new FAVE is PB2. I haven’t found it anywhere local, and I know nothing about it except that it tastes like you just dove into a Peanut Butter heaven….sans the calories. Need I say more? A dear friend ordered a batch and we all pitched in to split the cost and the case. It comes to about $5 a jar, which I thought was a shitload of money for peanut butter until I tasted it. I feel a peanut-infused stir fry coming along if I can keep enough of it around after my new-found peanut butter smoothie addiction. The smoothie by the way is easy sneazy – 2 T of the powdered PB, 1 cup water, 1 WW smoothie mix and a handful of ice thrown into a Magic Bullet. It shoots me to the moon! It’s about 135 calories, low in fat, high in fiber – YUM.

I’m also excited to see Greek yogurt popping up everywhere in the stores. I still prefer the 2 percent fat, but Chobani makes a pretty good plain fat free version and it has a whopping 23 grams of protein per cup. I topped it with a few strawberries from Pearl Market, which was far more satisfying than the pan of brownies would have been. More magic occurs when you drizzle a teaspoon of honey over the top of Greek yogurt so I need to pick some up to store in my cabinet at work.

What’s your current favorite food?

2 Responses

  1. I never heard of the PB stuff but just checked their site. (They are back ordered.) I love, love, love peanut butter. That on an apple is one of my favorites. Also, right now I am really enjoying apricots in season.

  2. I’ve heard this PB isn’t great on a sandwich, but it is absolutely fantastic in smoothies, and mixed in other things. I’ll have to try it on an apple and let you know. I love PB on apples too. Heck, I love PB right off a knife!

Leave a Reply

