• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Top Ten

1. Fiber One Cereal. Eat it dry, add milk or crush it up and use it as coating to “fry” things. While it looks more like rabbit food than something fit for human consumption, the versatility of the slightly sweet stuff helps fill in the hunger gaps and keeps my “pipes” running smooth.

2. Exercise. A hundred pounds ago, I never dreamt that exercise would be part of my life, but it is probably the biggest thing that keeps me where I am today. Of course it provides physical benefits, but the emotional grounding likely keeps me out of jail.

3. Salad. I used to hate making the same salad I planned to eat. Now, I look at it as a creative and yummy adventure. As a result I’ve come up with some pretty interesting concoctions. I eat salad at the end of almost every meal. It gives me something to “step down” to wrap up the meal. It’s like the cool down exercise for me.

4. Shopping in the misses section. I no longer need the long and loud knit tunics. What did I think I was hiding under there anyway?

5. Sunshine. When I catch a few rays every day, my mood improves exponentially.

6. Friends and Family. They encourage me to be a better person, and I’m blessed with a fabulous posse. I like the ones the most who slap me around from time to time to keep me in check.

7. Coffee. I secretly wonder if it is also a curse, but I’m not willing to give it up right now; I tried that once before. As soon as I heard it contains antioxidants, I gave myself permission to pour it down my gullet. I’ll probably need to revisit that, but for now….

8. Control Top Pantyhose – Sans the surgeon’s knife, they resolve a lot of issues at least from all outward appearances.

9. Sense of humor. As long as I manage to laugh once in a while, especially at myself, I know things will be ok… maybe not the way I want, but it all works out in the end.

10. Bubbles. They run right along there with sunshine. It is impossible to be in a bad mood when you are blowing bubbles. I used to blow bubbles every day when I was a stay-at-home mom with a fussy toddler. Sometimes, Russell and I would both start out in tears, but the day just gets better and better when you see those magical things floating through the air. Really, try it.

So there is my Top 10 list. I’m wondering if I need to be concerned that Fiber One was the first thing that popped into my head… With thought, I’m sure I can reposition the list, but for now, I think this will work.

What are some of your favorite things?

3 Responses

  1. Fun idea:) I will add for myself… the blog world. A great book. A spa vacation.

  2. I agree with #2. I was a total couch potato and hated exercise back in the day. Now I’m biking in 55 mile races, running an 8k and working out all the time. It saved me. I couldn’t live without it!

  3. Yea, exercise should probably be 1, 2 and 3….such an important part!

Leave a Reply

