• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

It Takes Work


Yesterday was another good day…. Again focused on simply nutritious food and kept the crap out of my mouth.

I met a friend for lunch and opted for a healthy choice of a grilled steak salad with avocados, tomatoes and lots of lettuce even though I really wanted a big plate of fried plantains. It was good and satisfying. I got a little worried because I had planned the destination, but then for a brief moment we considered something else – totally my doing. I felt my hunger pangs push against my resolve.

I felt good about my choices and then we returned to the office just in time to see a colleague cutting up a HUGE platter of brownies. Breathe Melissa. It didn’t take long to start the justifications. I delayed and then delayed again and told myself I would grab one after my meeting. I was disappointed and relieved that only crumbs remained when I was ready to dive in an hour later.

Today will also be another day filled with a potential food extravaganza – mostly “tasting opportunities.” I will head to Pearl Market first thing to help set up and then will be there the rest of the day making sure vendors and customers have what they need. I NEED strength since the first temptation will be the kettle corn. A plethora of items remain that bubble with potential to throw me overboard – all tasty, but not in line with my goals right now if I want to reduce the junk in the trunk.

The good news is that there are also tons of healthy choices. I was amazed by the produce when the Market opened earlier this week. I will focus energy there. Farmers utilizing raised beds already have tons of ripe strawberries, which is a much cheaper treat calorie-wise than cupcakes or Amish-baked yummies. Not that I plan to do this, but I could probably eat an entire flat of strawberries for the “price” of a pie.

My plan includes a packed lunch that I will sneak off to eat before I get too hungry to resist other temptations. I’m packing a leftover chicken pasta toss. I will also take some fruit and cut-up veggies and then I’ll wrap up with berries in the Market. I’m also planning to cram a pack of gum in my back pocket to keep on hand in case the urge strikes… not quite sure why being good feels so challenging.

Mantra today: Respect Myself – Reach My Goals

2 Responses

  1. You are doing so well! I need an infusion of your willpower:)

  2. Hey!

    The willpower sagged a bit today, but I didn’t come unglued. You can do it Karen!

Leave a Reply

