• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Cross My Fingers

I don’t want to jinx myself or set myself up for all or nothing, but yesterday felt good – really good.

I got back to basics and focused on filling and wholesome foods.

My day looked something like this:

5:30 a.m. – Drag ass from bed, insert coffee
6:00 a.m. – ¾ c. shredded wheat, ½ cup milk
10:00 a.m. – Breakfast meeting – 2 eggs, ham, grits (PLAIN)
12:30 p.m. – bowl of veggies, pear, Greek yogurt
2 p.m. – steel-cut oats
3 p.m. – 2 clementines
6:30 p.m. – tilapia, asparagus, ½ potato, lettuce & Pico de Gallo, 10-12 tortilla chips
8:30 p.m. small banana and ½ oz of dark chocolate

There were multiple opportunities to stray, which began with a breakfast meeting. I was planning on having an egg white omelet, but this little mom and pop diner only offered the basics – eggs and meat, oh yeah and waffles – YIKES. I stayed strong, skipped the waffles (and hash browns). I discovered it IS humanly possible to eat grits without cascading butter and sugar! Who knew?

I ate out twice yesterday – also dinner. It was unplanned, but I managed it fine. I stuck a piece of gum in my mouth on the drive to the restaurant and ordered as soon as I sat down. It was a perfect way to get some grilled fish without stinking up my house to cook it. I even managed to pack some up to take home, which will serve quite nicely for a little breakfast before I head into the office.

Oh, and I road my exercise bike for 20 minutes and I walked 13,000 steps. Can I do it again today?

When I got to goal I focused on daily behaviors, and I treated myself with the respect and dignity I deserved. There was no Good or Bad, Right or Wrong, Perfect or Sludge-Beneath-The-Earth. It was just me taking care of business. I like that girl, and I want to keep her around.

Cheers!

One Response

  1. Good for you! Yesterday was not so great in my dietville. But I am moving on.

Leave a Reply

