• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Sing It To Me

Thanks for the comments yesterday. I needed the collective kicks and hugs.

It occurred to me after reading them all yesterday, that I haven’t been taking care of myself in the manner in which I know is necessary to maintain weight loss – hence the recent pink indentation around my midsection every evening when I exchange my pants for jammies.

I got to goal and stayed there for four years by taking care of myself – treating myself with respect that every human being deserves for just taking up space on the planet. I stayed tuned into me.

I’d like to think that this recent fluctuation just occurred over night – I’ve written before about evil fairies sneaking in my bedroom in the wee hours planting loads of mash potatoes to each thigh, but the changes have been subtle and cumulative. All of your comments helped get me thinking – thanks and please keep them coming.

Just as the slippage occurred a little at a time, I know that I need to re-establish my good habits, and that may not be a cut and dry process. The same thing that got me to goal and kept me there will get me back to where I need to be. I’m not even going to bother ranting about perfection – been there, done that. Embrace the process, Melissa.

Today I will focus on the fact that I am worthy of the time and effort this journey takes. It doesn’t need to be WORK – it is what I deserve. When I take care of myself emotionally, physically and spiritually good things happen. Aretha says it all right here…

2 Responses

  1. First I have to say I love the fairy line!

    Second, I can see myself in this post. And I know that right now, I am not taking care of myself like I was just a few short months ago. Amazing how easy it is to start slipping just a bit here and there.

    We can both do it. Let’s.

  2. Ok – I can send you a cyber kick too ya know. Yes, you are right we can do this….determinination – we can get there and stay there. Today I simply focused on whole grains, lean protein, fruits and veggies. I was completely satisfied – even turned down waffles at a breakfast meeting. When I intentionally take care of me, things move along much smoother…chewing gum also helps. 🙂

Leave a Reply

