• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

TGIF?

Where did the week go? Hell, we’re already half way into May. I swear time disappears exponentially quicker the older I get.

Russell has lacrosse games today and tomorrow that wrap up the season – well then tournaments begin. Our community garage sale is tomorrow, which will make our neighborhood a nuthouse; I still want to play in the dirt to move some perennials and plant the garden. Oh, and I need to get up to speed on a new camera for two big events on Monday and Tuesday. Did I mention that I won’t even purchase it until about 11 a.m. today?

Geez, I haven’t even mentioned the stuff that needs attention on my desk at work. However, dawn arrived, the birds are calling and the two cups of coffee I chugged finally hit me. All systems go.

As expected, the week proved to be more than a little busy, but it’s all stuff that I wanted to do – so should I feel bad that I didn’t simplify things? When do you know that enough is enough?

It was not all that long ago that I made conscious efforts to avoid over programming. It required a consistent use of the word NO.

“No thanks, I’m not interested.”

“No, I’m sorry, but I can’t help you right now.”

“No, I have something else I must do that day (like sit on my ass and read a book).”

My days still aren’t as busy as some, but I worry sometimes if it is still too much. My old part time schedule afforded me a day to myself and a day to get shit done that no one else wants to do. That was kind of nice, but I really feel NO desire to return there, even if it means that I have to go to the grocery on Saturday while Lyle takes care of the laundry. God, I love my man.

Yes, my days feel full, but they feel good. Is that the key? As long as I feel positive and energized by my life, I think it works on the bigger scheme of things. The hubby seems happy enough, and we have experienced five good days – in a row – with the 15-year-old. That’s record breaking in itself. Should family harmony tell me that things are fine, albeit busy?

Do you have ways to see impending meltdown, and do you pay attention to the signs? What is your first clue?

4 Responses

  1. “Yes, my days feel full, but they feel good. Is that the key? As long as I feel positive and energized by my life, I think it works on the bigger scheme of things.” I agree! My days are pretty empty, and I am missing that positive energized feeling. Enjoy it!

  2. I have a couple of bits of life philosophy that I’ve found very useful in regards to this and I’d like to make you a gift of both of them…

    “We all have all the time there is…”

    and

    “I can do anything I want. I just can’t do everything I want….”

    I find that, between the 2 of them, I can find both balance and freedom.

    I wish you well

    Catherine
    Foresight

  3. Karen – what helped me find a path was opening up to it. also I think that the process is as important as the end product.

    And Catherine – I like your two phrases – and I couldn’t agree more.

  4. Thanks

    Catherine
    Foresight

Leave a Reply

