• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Grab Your Shovel

Open to the things I need to see. That’s my goal.

I feel good about what I’ve done with my life, but I also squashed lots of ideas and dreams from my head over the years with quick thoughts like, “that would NEVER be possible” or “someone might think that is silly” or the overriding, “What if YOU can’t do it?”

I find myself in a good place right now, and most fascinating is that it also seems to be a place that failure, or perhaps more appropriately, the IDEA of failure is no longer welcome.

My gut tells me that I am free to fly. If things go awry, which is much different than failing, no problem, learn from the experience, tweak the path a little and keep going.

I find this a very interesting juxtaposition. I learned a long time ago to be comfortable with the uncomfortable and I liked pushing my limits (and others at times), but that is very different from actually opening up to all the possibilities that exist for me. I still felt it necessary to beat down the little gnome taunting me with, “What happens if you fail miserably at this?”

As I sit this morning wondering where my life is leading me, this previous place seems like the most absurd place to hang out, and more importantly, those notions seem to hold less and less power over me.

This feels like a huge growing opportunity for me. I often wondered when I heard about people doing the kinds of things I pushed away in my mind, how in the world did they actually make them happen? Dreams and perseverance – is that where the secret lies? If I just keep pushing through in a positive manner, can I too bring those ideas swirling around in my head to reality?

I don’t have any answers, only questions. Perhaps that is what is really needed in this space. Disjointed as it may seem, I feel like I found a big open sandbox, and I just want to pull out my shovel and bucket and dig in. Care to join me?

2 Responses

  1. I think I need to make a life change myself. But I have no idea what I would want to do, who I would want to be, what would make me feel passion and excitement. Sigh.

  2. Can I recommend “What Color Is Your Parachute?” I picked it up right before I started my job search – whether you are wanting a job or not, it really helped me at least look for the path that I wanted to be on.

Leave a Reply

