• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Packin’ It All In

You ever wonder why you sleep really well some nights and like shit others?

Yea, I know a lot of things complicate the issue. Caffeine consumption, diet and exercise, stress; I’m sure the list is a mile long… maybe I could fall asleep creating it.

I hardly ever experience difficulty sleeping, but the last two nights have been challenging. I don’t know how people do this on a regular basis. I just want to stab somebody, anybody with a fiery-hot poker stick – no reason – just because I want to share my pain.

I can’t blame anything too exciting on my recent insomnia. My best night’s sleep comes after an acupuncture session. Follow that with a romp alongside my hubby behind closed doors, and I could rival the dude in the fairytale who slept for 40 years. Of course, I can’t remember his name or the details of story right now because I haven’t freakin’ been getting enough sleep!

I have a busy week ahead so I need to figure out how I’m going to navigate all the stuff. The rest of the week involves late evenings. Lyle and I have a meeting with a parenting coach this evening. I don’t want to give that up – it may just keep me out of a homicidal mess with my hormonal teen. Actually, things seem to be better there. Isn’t that always the case? You deal with all kinds of crap and finally get off your ass to make change and then things even out on their own. Whatever, I’m keeping the appointment.

Tomorrow night I’m going to a Women’s Fund event to hear Diane Keaton speak. I’m excited about that. I love her and I’m hoping she will impart some wisdom on me – at least talk me out of coloring my hair. I really want to embrace the gray sprouts, but I’m havin’ my doubts.

Thursday is an alumni event with people in the area. I’ve never been to one, but I’ve intended to do it for more years than I care to admit. It will be fun, but the anticipation does nothing for me.

Friday, Russell has a lacrosse game. That’s a much better way to kick off the weekend than worrying about if he is off boinking someone without a condom after smokin’ a big doobie so I can’t complain about that either.

All in all, I have nothing to bitch about, but here I am. Thanks for listening….care to impart any knowledge? I just need to figure out a way to get a little more rest when I actually hit the hay. I’m sure Lyle can oblige.

2 Responses

  1. Your comments about your son cracked me up! I have no advice for you but can empathize since I don’t sleep well most nights. And I almost always have unpleasant dreams so wake up feeling like crap. Sigh. My husband would love it if he could provide the cure:)

  2. I told my son that he needed to have his homework done by 10 pm or he was going to get to hear his dad and I having sex in the next room over…. pretty motivating I think…He still has 23 minutes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

