• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Stay On Course

I experienced a weekend completely within control – wooo hoooo! I’ve been having a hard time and using food to self-sooth in some very negative ways. Even though the weekend was busy, I used it to think my way through what has been really eating me.

Several of you left great suggestions about dealing with evening snacking, which really helped deliver a strategy that hopefully will get me back to where I need to be. Thanks for the input. I want to focus on mindful eating, lights out in the kitchen at 9 p.m. and choosing low-energy density filling foods. There are no magical tricks. These are all simple little strategies that I know work and I employed to get to goal; however, somewhere, I decided I didn’t need them anymore. Hmmm, is that the same time that my thighs began to resemble a mammoth pot of cottage cheese?

Over the weekend I also confronted my discomfort with transitions. I usually go out to lunch with friends on Saturday – it’s a “safe” thing given that these are all WW staff. We head over to a local Japanese restaurant where I’m quite adept at navigating the menu; however, lunch plans changed and I felt myself panic. I thought I kept my anxiety to myself until one of my dear friends pulled me aside after our meal and said, “You were really having a hard time with ordering…why? You handled it just fine.”

First, it called my attention to the fact, as I know deep down and like to ignore, I’m horribly easy to read – especially to those who know me. Love me or hate me, you know what I’m thinking. More importantly, it led me to contemplate why I let “change” affect the way I choose to eat.

Regardless of the situation, I still must fuel my body, and when life throws challenges in the path, this need is even bigger, right? Plans provide a map and veering from what I plugged into the GPS doesn’t preclude me from reaching the destination in a safe and timely manner.

I teetered for years at the edge of a very unhealthy relationship with food, but I learned that I’m quite capable of putting on the breaks to avoid careening off the cliff…. Again, as I reminded myself the other day, I don’t need to practice all or nothing thinking so it’s nice to be on the road again even if I know I’m sure to encounter some bumps along the way.

One Response

  1. “I don’t need to practice all or nothing thinking so it’s nice to be on the road again even if I know I’m sure to encounter some bumps along the way. ” The second part is me… the first part I struggle with. I am such an all or nothing thinker. But I am trying to change that:)

Leave a Reply

