• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Reformed Nighttime Snackers Needed

How do you handle your evenings? I’ve been really struggling (for a long time) with night time hours. Somehow, I let my good habits fly out the window because I just realized that my current nighttime habits closely align to what they were 100 pounds ago. They definitely bear no resemblance to anyone who is trying to maintain a healthy weight, which may explain the number at the scale.

Before I lost weight, I spent my evening hours munching uncontrollably in front of the TV. Cereal, chips, candy, full-fat microwave popcorn and tumblers full of Tropicana OJ was a favorite…makes my mouth water sitting here and typing. I used to begin eating as soon as the dinner dishes were put away and stop around 11 p.m. when I collapsed into bed and shut off the lights…not pretty.

I’m nowhere near that right now, but I don’t think what I’m doing could be called healthy. Last night I ate a cup of Raisin Bran with some Fiber One sprinkled on top with a half cup of milk, a banana, bowl of Doritos, 100-calorie snack and something else that I can’t even read on my tracker this morning. What the hell – it’s not even good shit. The silver lining is that I wrote it down, but that it isn’t going to keep any of it from landing on each side of my all-ready-too-lumpy thighs.

I experienced a brief moment when I paused before I began…again, there was a time that I held no awareness of this behavior; however, it is not a habit that is conducive to the way I want to live. What am I looking for? Satisfaction? Entertainment? Relaxation? Decompression? All I know is that I didn’t find it with the Spicy Salsa Doritos or anything else that I crammed down my pie hole last night.

Sometimes I wonder if I need to plan and prepare more appealing snacks. I do fine all day, and then I eat something in the evening thinking, “Nah, that wasn’t it,” and I head to the kitchen for more.

PLEASE….share some evening tips and interesting snacks… perhaps it will lodge something loose in my brain and get me thinking again.

9 Responses

  1. OMG OMG OMG this is soooo me! I just posted today about my two day binge, and most of it was at night. Mine was all “healthy” food, in theory, so that is progress. But I ate and ate and ate. Why do we do this!!!???

    I would tell someone else to not have the food around, to take a walk, to get on the computer or some other activity that keeps hands busy, to drink something with no calories, to chew gum. But of course I did none of this.

    UGH.

    Maybe you and I need to make a pact to help us with this nighttime eating.

  2. Are you eating enough throughout the day? If you are, try planning out a snack that is high in protein. I have found that if I set a time and a specific snack after each dinner, than I stay on track. I know that every night at 8:30 or 9 I get to eat a pudding snack with cool whip and a rice cake. It helps to prevent eating out of boredom. In between I drink tons of water!

  3. Karen,

    Let’s talk about this pact…I need to do something. Holy cow, it’s pissing me off! I can’t stay this made at myself.

  4. She-fit – I think protein my be part of the issue right now. I like the ide of your night time pudding and rice cake – crunch and sweet…something to contemplate, ahem, try. I’ve contemplated enough – I need to get off my butt and do it.

    Thanks!

  5. I would so do it!

  6. You’re probably going to poo poo me for even suggesting it, but have you considered trying to eliminate night-time snacks, or only grant them to yourself on three nights a week instead of seven — if that is your M.O. right now?

    If snacking in the evening is something you do out of habit, perhaps decreasing the frequency of it will lessen the habit. I don’t know that even the healthiest of snacks (let’s take celery sticks for example) are a good idea if your mind can say “no, that wasn’t it” and you head to the fridge or pantry for something else.

    I hope I didn’t come off as offensive. I admire you a lot.

  7. Jennifer – no need to worry – you didn’t offend. I don’t think I’m willing to do without an evening snack because I believe that I would feel deprived – that always sets me up for trouble. After I lost weight I managed to control it and I truly viewed it as A SNACK and not an evening of eating entertainment. I had a good habit established, and I’m working on getting it back in place – one snack – like a little protein and popcorn can be very satisfying.

    thanks for all the suggestions! It really means a lot, and it always gives me something to think about.

    I also realize that this is never going to be DONE….I guess it is worth it though – I never want to go back “there.”

  8. I used to be a nighttime snacker too. It was probably boredom and habit. And I was usually eating sweets, too. I lived alone until last year when I moved in with my BF. Honestly, I am so embarrassed by that behavior I don’t do it anymore. I have a witness. I know I’ll be embarrassed and ashamed if he saw me snacking like i used to.

  9. The night time thing is hard….sometimes I’m better at it than others. I find when I focus on truly nutritious foods, snacking isn’t as big of issue….how about you?

Leave a Reply

