• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Favorite Things Repurposed

I came across this post and thought it may be good to share again…please add to the list. I’d love to hear about some of your faves.

Breakfast favorites:

For a quick high protein meal I like to put an egg white and veggie burger on a toasted Arnold Sandwich or Bagel Thin. I add barbeque sauce or a little fruit-only jam to the sandwich to increase the flavor factor.

If you need extra fiber, try shredded wheat (without the frosting) and add Fiber One. Trader Joes also sells a variety of this rabbit-pellet cereal that I like even better than Fiber One. Together, the two cereals provide about 20 grams of fiber, which will help internal plumbing run smoothly. I eat it with 1% or skim milk. If dairy is not your thing, try almond milk. It doesn’t have much protein, but it is low in calories and has a nice flavor.

Old fashioned oatmeal also has great staying power. I dice an apple and add cinnamon and vanilla. I prefer the cooked variety over instant because I get more for the same calories and then I can control the sweetness (stevia is my new friend). If you’ve never tried steel-cut oats, they are also wonderful, but take about 15 minutes to cook so plan accordingly. As a time saver, I make a pot of steel-cut oats on Sunday evening and portion them in one-cup servings for a grab and go breakfast the rest of the week.

Lunch Favorites:

I absolutely love hummus on a whole wheat pita. I created a low-fat hummus that you can find under the recipe category. I like to load the pita with cucumber slices and alfalfa sprouts. Add a large mixed salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and you have a filling and healthy meal.

I frequently repurpose leftovers for lunch. After dinner of grilled meat, chicken or fish, I measure out a lunch portion for the next day to top off a big salad. I mix up one of the salad dressing recipes I’ve shared here, and I’m good to go with a lunch that gives me a lot of bulk and protein. I even include leftover grilled veggies, which add dimension to an ordinary salad.

I keep pre-cooked and peeled shrimp in the freezer. If I’m in a hurry, they give me the protein I need alongside cut-up veggies or a salad. I eat a lot of salads, and I like to try different kinds of greens. My new favorite are any kind of bitter greens that I wilt slightly by heating a little sesame oil, balsamic vinegar with spices (find the recipe from a week or so ago) and pouring over the greens.

Dinner:

Grill, Grill, Grill! It’s a perfect way to cook, and you can’t beat it for clean-up. I love grilled salmon on a cedar plank. I buy a one-by-four at the hardware store and have it cut in six to eight inch pieces. It’s cheaper to buy it at a lumber yard than at a kitchen specialty store. I soak the boards in salt water for several hours. While the boards are soaking, I marinate the fish in the Asian Dressing listed under recipes, and then put the fish on the boards and grill for about 20 minutes until its flaky. No need to flip the fish. It comes out golden with a deep smoky flavor and is delicious! In the same marinade I soak some fresh asparagus, zucchini, thick potato slices or portabella mushrooms and throw them on the grill too!

Shish kabobs are always a treat. They are super easy to make and they look and taste fabulous. My favorite is shrimp, but steak also works well. Pick your veggies; zucchini, mushrooms, onions and bell peppers work well. I like to use the bamboo skewers, and I soak them in water about an hour before assembly. Cut meat and veggies in big chunks, marinate in fat-free Italian dressing for about an hour, and then put them on the skewers and grill away.

If you miss a juicy burger, but want to avoid the fat, try bison burgers. Bison is leaner than chicken and tastes every bit as good as beef! I read that bison is the only mammal that doesn’t get cancer. Don’t quote me there because I didn’t do any heavy research, but I thought it was interesting. Grill the burgers as you would hamburger.

Snacks:

In a blender add an instant smoothie mix, one cup water, one cup ice and one cup of frozen berries…woo hoo, treat time! You can also skip the fruit and water, substitute half a can of diet pop and a cup of ice. My all-time fave is diet orange soda. You will think you have a date with a dreamsicle.

One cup of 2% Greek yogurt with a teaspoon of honey drizzled over the top is a decadent snack with about 20 grams of protein. The 2% yogurt has a few more calories than nonfat, but I think it is worth it. It feels like I’m eating a bowl of sour cream, which is about as close to heaven as I can be while watching caloric intake!

I would love to hear about some of your favorites…please share; I could use some new ideas!

4 Responses

  1. I am still avoiding grains until later in the day, so my breakfast for months now has been homemade “refried” beans that I cook each week in the crockpot. I put some cheese on top. It is almost like having a bowl of hot cereal in texture. Full of fiber and protein.

    Sounds odd, but it is working for me:)

  2. I was looking for beef recipes when I found your post quite high up in my search. It wasn’t really what I was looking for but it was an interesting read. Enough to make me come back and have another look sometime to see what else you’ve talked about

  3. Karen, how do you cook your beans and do you mash them up? I love beans, but I don’t ever cook them like that.

    Recipe finder – check out the recipe category and you may find some recipes that you can use with beef. I cook with venison and bison quite a bit, and beef can always be substituted.

  4. I got the recipe from my forum on 3fatchicks and did a bit of modifying.

    Soak 2 cups of dried beans in plenty of water overnight. I use pinto but any you like should work.

    In the morning, put the rinsed beans in a crock pot. Add a can of Rotel tomatoes. Cover with water about an inch over the beans. Add 2 tsp coriander and 1.5 T cumin. Put a onion or two, sliced in half, on top. Add 5 cloves of peeled garlic, cut in half.

    I cook it for 10 hours on low. Then I take out the onion and toss. I remove the beans and garlic with a slotted spoon and mash with a potato masher to whatever texture I like. I add in some of the liquid to get the right texture too. (It will get a bit less liquidy as it cools, so this is always trial and error for me.)

    I have refrigerated them for up to two weeks. You can freeze them as well, but they do separate just a bit. I am making some right now! I really do eat them every day.

Leave a Reply

