• Follow On Twitter

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other subscribers

Someone Is Watching

I’ve experienced tracking issues the last couple days. I keep an online food journal – it’s all attached to my I-Phone, and I really like it. It took me a while to switch from pen and paper, but I became quite accustomed to the process and works nicely – when I actually use it.

For the last day and a half, my online tracker has not been working. It concerned me when I first discovered it, but then yesterday I used it as an excuse to play. I ate pretty healthy, but a muffin, cake, wine, chili dog and risotto accompanied my bran cereal, veggie burger, huge salad and fish. I discovered I’m not a big fan of risotto; I tried to like it, really. I’ve eaten it at a lot of places, each time thinking maybe it just wasn’t prepared well. They can call it anything they like, but over-cooked rice just doesn’t do it for me, but I still managed to polish it off.

Wouldn’t it be nice if the good stuff could cancel out the bad? Of course, I’d probably get nothing done, except eating. Hmmm, that might interfere a little bit with, oh say, LIFE. But at 6 a.m. the idea seems pretty damn appealing.

I’ve known for many years that I experience the most success when I use a food journal. Too much amnesia creeps in if I only keep mental tabs on food consumption. OK, so maybe it’s not amnesia because I’m aware of it going down my pie hole, but I morph into a kleptomaniac. Instead of sneaking expensive Gucci scarves into my purse, I head straight for the leftover birthday cake setting in the break room. I’m pretty sure the food can get me in as much trouble as the stealing would.

I’m not sure what’s going on with the online tracker. I need to plug into I-Tunes to see if there are any updates that I need for my Apps. Crazy…the previous sentence would have held absolutely no meaning a few years ago. Is that a sign that maybe I need to simplify or does the technology thing really help me with the weight loss gig? I could resort to the old-fashioned piece of paper and pen to write down what I shove down my throat until I figure out the computer gliche. Maybe that will be like having a security guard following me around the store to make sure I don’t pilfer a Louis Vuitton wallet.