• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Better Than Blueberries

Should I be worried about my mental health if I’m using “gloriously” and “addicted” in the same sentence?

During a low-carb diet phase many years ago, I eliminated coffee from my diet for a about nano-second. I did notice a difference, and admittedly, others probably benefitted when High-Test Melissa took a leave of absence.

I occasionally drank a cup and felt an immediate buzz confirming perhaps caffeine was not the best thing for my body. Alas, my boyfriend, Dr. Oz, came to my rescue. He announced that caffeine contained antioxidants not found anywhere else, and if it didn’t cause difficulty, go ahead and consume it in moderation.

I heard, “Drinking coffee is better than eating blueberries.”

A couple trips to France cemented the relationship. My problem now is that I can’t find a satisfactory brewing method. I’ve tried espresso, auto drip and French presses.

The method yielding the best cup involves placing an individual filter contraption over a mug, filling it with coffee and pouring boiling water over it. However, the second cup seems to involve more effort than I really want to expend at 5:30 a.m. I alternate between that and my Bunn, which spews soggy grounds all over my counter since I fill it with enough coffee to sprout hair on my chest.

Can any of you make any recommendations? Oh yea, and I don’t want to have to take out a second mortgage on my house to find a plausible solution.

Leave a Reply

