• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Don’t Blame the Leprechauns

I’m not super happy with the progress, or lack thereof, at the scale. Actually, I have the biggest issue with the circumference of my fanny.

It has nothing to do with unrealistic expectations this time. The pants in my closet that I wore two months ago are too tight. Period, end of story. I wish I could blame it on some evil leprechaun sneaking into my closet in the wee hours of the morning – sewing up the ass end of my pants to see my reaction in the morning when I tried to weasel them over my derrière.

I cut myself a little slack after I started my new job, but in the last week or so, I’ve been reevaluating my behavior. I felt two-year-old Melissa banging at the door bitching and moaning about how life isn’t fair that she has to “watch her weight.” That’s always a pretty big clue that I need to hold a Back-To-Jesus meeting.

I’ve been exercising and tracking my food intake, but it just occurred to me that I’ve gotten sloppy with my portions, which plays a huge role not only in physical outcomes, but emotional contentment.

I can eyeball the center of a wall to hang a picture and come within a fraction of an inch, which I know secretly pisses Lyle off as he puts away the tape measure. But don’t trust me with a bowl of cereal or pasta, and definitely not with a tablespoon of peanut butter. I know that about myself, so how “close enough” found its way into my vocabulary, is a little surprising.

I cannot rely on the luck of the Irish to meet my weight loss/maintenance goals, especially when the evil leprechauns may be lurking in the shadows. Today, I will pull out those measuring cups to see just how far my eyeballs have taken me.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

P.S. if you are looking for free clip art, you may want to click here. I’m obligated to tell you since I also used it today.

Leave a Reply

