• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Time For Drama

Saturdays are fun, but busy days for me. I leave the house at about 7:30 a.m. to lead a Weight Watchers meeting and then hit a staff class, followed by lunch. Afterwards, sometimes I sneak in some solitary me time. Yesterday afternoon I opted for the grocery store instead of the gem and jewelry show, which is where I really wanted to go. First mistake. The second one was thinking my family would appreciate the first one.

Before I begin my tirade, I need to say that Lyle aka. Laundry King spends most of his Saturday mornings making sure we all have clean underwear and socks for the coming week. He pitches in on the house duties right alongside me – well maybe a little prompting is involved, but my point is he’s a really good guy about house work. I love the fact that he takes care of all the laundry on the weekend.

As soon as I walk through the door, I acknowledge his effort, even if I really just want to bitch about all the sticky shit left on the counter from his and Russell’s earlier meals.

I walked in the door loaded down with groceries, and Russell headed out to help carry in the rest of the stuff. We all started unpacking, but then they both started kibitzing about all the healthy stuff and duplicates that I bought.

“I’m done,” I dropped my bag and walked out the door. Damn, where were my keys?

“Don’t ya hate it when you stomp out in a big way and have to come back ‘cause you forgot something,” Russell chortled.

“Yea, but I’m still outta here.” I snorted back.

I needed air and there certainly wasn’t enough for all three of us in that house. I was afraid one of us might take our last breath if we all remained in that moment. That, and Russell was right, I liked the dramatic exit.

I went to the mall in search of too good to pass up, end of season deals, and I wasn’t disappointed. I returned home much calmer and we sat down to discuss our grocery strategies. Lyle chose his words carefully – I’m sure he didn’t want to add this chore to his list, but he reminded me that I also complained about his choices when he went to the store. Doh, I hate it when I can’t play holier than thou.

Leave a Reply

