• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

All In The Details

I talked to Lyle yesterday. He’s not having nearly as much fun as I am this week.

He is super supportive of me, and I love the fact that he accepts me for all I am and all I fail to be. He’s behind me 100 percent and it feels great that he is in my corner, but I don’t know if either of us realized this, but he is a big picture kind of guy.

I knew changes in my professional life would impact the Fast household in big ways even as he cheered me on to pursue other career options. While I didn’t plan on this week to be part of the transition, it has indeed begun. Lyle’s had to manage school, lacrosse practice, work, meals – you name it. He has been mom, dad, maid, taxi and more.

The biggest bone of contention right now is the beagle. He didn’t want Sonya, and when I talked to him last night, he was walking her for the second time at 10:30 p.m.

“You owe me big,” he said.

“For what?”

“All the stuff I’m doing around here,” he grumped.

Where’d my husband go? I couldn’t help myself, “What about all the times I spent doing this crap?”

“That was different. You were working part time,” he reminded me.

Where exactly did breastfeeding around the clock fit into this equation? I’m pretty sure I got bonus points for that, which don’t expire, and I want to cash them in now.

I reigned in bitchy Melissa and kept the nursing comment to myself. Lyle is maxed out, and I knew this transition would be challenging for our family as we ironed out a few of the details.

What I need to know from you is how do you have a happy beagle and content husband when everyone maintains a full-time schedule. While you’re chewing on that one, if you have any menu ideas for late evening family dinners, that would also be appreciated.

Details, details.

One Response

  1. You don’t! Something has to change. You can not add a full time job and still have the freedom a part time job gives. There will be adjustments to be made. Things will not be the same. There are things you will no longer get to do. You will have to make serious choices.
    Also remember while the rest of your family is trying to be supportive, this change empacts their lives. They didn’t make the choice, they just have to adjust to it.
    It will take time and team work. Each new chapter of our lives does. Relax and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

