• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Sweat Equity Pays Off

Home Sweet Home Requires Work


I’ve been spending a lot of time pissing and moaning about the effort it takes to maintain my weight, which causes more work than just pulling on my big girl panties and getting down to business. Somewhere in this two-year-old tantrum I temporarily lost sight of the accomplishment, instead focusing on something unrealistically achievable sans Photoshop.

Sure, it would be great to have a flat belly, perky boobs and a butt you could bounce quarters off of. It doesn’t help that the loose skin on the inner part of my thighs can be fairly distracting if I catch a glimpse as I’m doing leg lifts and the stretch marks come a little too close to resembling chicken skin if you ask me.

But hey, my body does some pretty amazing things, and this is the longest period in my entire life that I have maintained a healthy weight. I began this gig in 2002 at more than 250 pounds, and I have been on a healthy track ever since, and that my friends is cause for celebration. I’ve had lots of ups and downs, but I never want to go back to be being the girl who hid underneath a 100-pound invisibility cloak. That was a sad, dark place and I felt like an outsider in my own life.

Today finds me in a much different space. Yes, I work at it, but is that really all that bad?

MaryAnne provided an analogy that resonated with me,

“You’ve made 100 pounds of change. Like owning a home or having a kid, you will probably need to maintain that investment for the rest of your life. And you are.”

I wouldn’t dream of throwing rotten eggs at my house or let the shingles rot causing the roof to cave in around my family. I admit that sometimes I envy people who are super duper handy and seem to enjoy do-it-yourself projects, but luckily my neighbor is a contractor so help is not far away.

When I’m diligent and dedicated, I recognize that I underwent a total transformation and it involved complete renovation of the outer shell. That doesn’t necessarily mean life is easier, just different. However, things come my way now that I never allowed myself to dream of, and that is where I need to focus my energy instead of a saggy ass that I keep camouflaged most of the time anyway.

When I focus on the behavior, which involves taking care of me from the inside out, the rest falls into place. The snippets of self-acceptance I find along the way bring me hope of what life truly has to offer, and that is way more rewarding than a firm bum.

I think it does come down to self-acceptance, and I’ve been letting that slide a bit. I know I’m not alone here. Blogger Lynn’s Weigh recently shared some insight, which reminded me once again that I found a new normal after profound weight loss and in order to ensure permanent residence, a little sweat equity is required from time to time.

Leave a Reply

