• Follow On Twitter

    • Just because gay marriage is legal now in Maine, doesn't mean gay couples should rush to get married on the first day. 4 years ago
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Dancing On Tables

Put on your dancing shoes! OK, I know they're slippers, whatever.


Wooo Hooo! What a great birthday. We enjoyed a fantastic dinner, way too high in fat, and I found out that a video camera will arrive in the very near future. I’m looking forward to trying my hand at podcasts on the blog so stay tuned.

None of that, however, comes close to trumping the fact that I just got a new job! Well, technically, I found out last week, but I made the announcement at my current place of employment yesterday, and I’ve been dancing on tables ever since. I was nervous and a little sad to tell everyone at work because it has been a big part of my life for the last eight years, but what lies ahead is invigorating.

It is a time of transition for our family as I prepare for a full-time career again, but I sense that I’m on a path that I need to follow. I’m ready for the challenge and the opportunity, and I have to say that it was quite validating to secure what may be my dream job within six weeks during a very soft economy.

Undertaking a job search can be intimidating, but I am also one of those freaky people who kind of enjoy the game. I began by pulling out a notepad and making a list of everyone I knew. That accompanied a schedule of when I planned to contact each person. I made my first call to a friend and previous colleague who met me for lunch. I picked her brain and headed out to the bookstore for the latest copy of What Color Is Your Parachute?

The book confirmed many of the techniques that I had already employed, but more importantly it helped me define what I was looking for in a new job and what set me apart from the competition. Each person I spoke to brought me that much closer to realizing my goal.

I also have to say that it was probably the first time in my life that I embarked on a job search where I felt like potential employers had to pass a test given by me. I certainly could promote my skills and experience, but would XYZ Widget Factory provide a good fit for my aspirations?

Was it timing, hard work, cosmos? Probably all three. The biggest change that occurred, which will sound all woowoo (thanks for the new word, Maryanne) is that I finally stopped trying to control “the situation” and simply opened my soul to the messages I needed to receive. The path became very clear from that point forward.

I’ve experienced moments of this kind of clarity in my life, but it is a difficult place to remain given the fact that “control freak” defined me to the core. I find it interesting that I embraced this fallacy, when in fact, most positive things that arrive in my life happen as a result of the exact opposite. Is it possible to truly let go and follow the blips to where they lead me? I think it might be worth a shot.

4 Responses

  1. Yeah!!! Very proud of your hard work in getting the job! Now enjoy!!!

  2. Thanks! I’m really excited about beginning the new adventure, and it feels really good.

  3. WOW! WOW! You are giving me hope as I still work on letting go and following what feels right.

    I’m happy for you. I hope it won’t mean that we won’t find time to get together again sometime. I enjoyed it.

    Congratualtions!! They are lucky.

    MA

  4. MA – absolutely we will find time to get together. I’m still mulling over your book idea. I’ve been jotting down some ideas…this could be a cool cooperative project. I am super excited about beginning the job. It feels soooo right, which makes leaving my current job a little easier.

Leave a Reply

