• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Patty Cake, Patty Cake

Mmmmm, Good

In light of my recent “free day” strategies, my food choices took a nose dive, which also found me with a “need” to snack every hour and a half or so.

Now, I’ve always been a proponent of a well-placed snack, but for a couple weeks, if I wasn’t eating something, I was planning for it. My world began to revolve around food, the more I thought about it, the more I wanted it and the more I ate of it.

I decided my best tactic to get off this crazy train was to follow a little of my own advice – smart girl. I focused on truly healthy filling foods – fruits, veggies, whole grains, lean protein and dairy. Gone were pre-packaged “low-cal” items, and no more excuses that I deserved a cookie as a result of a stressful day… I put me on the top of my priority list, and bottom line I sent sugar packing for about the 12 millionth time, geez.

How many times do I need to thunk my head against a sugar bowl before I embrace this “notion.” I shouldn’t even call it a notion, which elicits an idea that it might be negotiable. I know for a fact that sugar needs to be on my 10 Most Wanted List.

When I eat crap, I feel like crap, which makes me crave more crap – now that’s real profound, huh?

Last week, I came across an interview on TV and in a magazine from Michael Pollan who wrote Food Rules. I want to get the book, but essentially he said that we need to be more mindful of the food we eat and where it originates. The other thing that stuck in my head was that he eats whatever junk food he wants as long as he prepares it from scratch. By the way, unwrapping the cellophane, plopping it on a plate and nuking it in the microwave don’t count.

He shared that his favorite junky thing to eat is French fries, but they are a pain to make so he gets around to it about once or twice a month. Since he is preparing them, he knows exactly what goes in – potatoes, oil and salt, which eliminate the need to pull out a dictionary to decipher the ingredient list.

In theory, I like this idea. I still have to work on portion control, but it could easily be solved as long as I indulge with friends. I’m a decent cook so I usually don’t have issues with giving away the leftovers.

Could this actually work? It definitely takes the focus off of the Last Supper mentality…don’t even say you haven’t taken that approach, “This is THE last time I will ever have this (fill in the blank) because of the stupid diet that I must begin tomorrow – enjoy it now.” What do you think?

Patty cake, patty cake, baker’s man. Make me a cake as fast as you can…

Leave a Reply

