• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Oh, It’s You

It’s taken me a while, but I think I have a fairly healthy self-esteem, which is generally linked to reality. I composed a posse of people who live in the land of reciprocity. I totally understand that I may encounter people who may not appreciate what I bring to the table, and I try not to let this influence the way I view who I am as a human being. It’s all good.

This mutual respect gig works, but I have somehow become known as the food police. I didn’t sign up for this position, and quite frankly, I would like to outsource it. I really don’t care what other people eat. I try to follow a path that works for me, and I let others do the same. I’m far from perfect, and I still thoroughly enjoy diving into a triple-layer chocolate cake on occasion, especially if a glass of icy-cold milk or a stiff cup of java accompanies it.

People seem O.K. with me and my choices until they learn I am a Weight Watchers leader. Then it is as if they feel the need to justify their existence. Hell, I don’t care what others eat, especially at a party. I have a hard enough time staying in control navigating past the hors d’oeuvres without stumbling into the dessert table. I really don’t need the extra burden of hovering over other party goers. I only answer to the pair of jeans hanging in my closet, which by the way likes to mock me from time to time.

On occasion, I find myself even walking into to social situations with people who used to attend my classes. When they see me, I’ve actually heard, “Oh no, it’s you.”

I may be semi O.K. with my identity, but this always gives me pause, and it has happened more than once. Even if people don’t let the words slip from their mouths, I see the look as they momentarily contemplate running in the opposite direction.

Sometimes when people find out I’m a leader who lost 100 pounds, they start asking me all kinds of questions. I never mind sharing, but I also know there are others in the crowd who don’t want to hear it, which then perpetuates the myth that I’m the food Nazi with only the capacity to talk about caloric intake. Really, just eat your lasagna and leave me out of it.

I’m not sure how to combat this, and perhaps it simply comes with the territory, but rest assured I am not tracking your food intake. If you overlook what’s on my plate at the next Fourth of July celebration, I’ll look past yours, deal?

2 Responses

  1. I hate when someone finds out I’m going to WW and their response is “why are YOU going to WW, you don’t NEED to lose weight”. Or, “If I were your size I wouldn’t worry about going on a diet”. No one ever gains 50 pounds at one time…it is one pound at a time. If I make healthy choices and watch my food intake I can keep those pounds from “gaining on me”. When the scales say I have gained a pound or two…it is a lot easier to lose it than when it has become 10, 20 or 50 pounds. But, most people don’t understand that…well, I guess they understand it…they just don’t want to acknowledge it. I still say it is takes more discipline to keep the weight off than it does to lose it. Just my 2 cents. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts…I read your blog everyday and hope to get back to WW in the next week or two. I miss it.

  2. I agree completely. I fully realize it is a personal journey. I try to just do my own thing and let others do theirs.

    Thanks for reading the blog – and thanks for leaving comments! I love the conversation that can happen as a result!

Leave a Reply

