• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Choose Exercise Over Exorcise

I sat in front of the TV last night for two hours, and I have to say it felt pretty damn good to recline my big fatty in the Lazy Boy as I watched TIVO and occasionally wiped the drool from my chin.

I woke up this morning though realizing that I have to get back to my exercise routine – it’s been four days since I’ve done anything that would see me huffing and puffing. I have to get some sort of activity in today before I eat my house or kill my family. Maybe cleaning the house yesterday was a preemptive strike for Lyle.

My schedule of late has been crazy and I haven’t found the time to fit in a workout. Most weeks I balance morning exercise with evening activity, but I think I’m trying to cram too much into my schedule, and I’ve let that piece slide.

As much as I would like to skip it all together, activity keeps me grounded and gives me a lot of wiggle room at the dinner table. For the last four years of my life, exercise has been an essential component of success, but I am willing to throw it out the window as soon as something better comes along – like sitting in front of the TV for two hours. I suppose I could have watched TIVO and hopped on my stationary bike, but who would have held the gigantic bowl of popcorn?

Life is busy, and I really don’t see that changing anytime soon, even though I hold hope that extended daylight hours will at least improve the atmosphere a bit. I have to figure out a way to fit a workout in as more things demand my time.

The other complication revolves around the fact that I hold this stupid assumption that I can’t exercise after a shower and makeup application. Our house has two bathrooms and I have a whole bag of cosmetics. I can make good arguments for water conservation and animal testing on lipstick, but it only makes my jiggly bum all the more tyrannical.

I suppose I could get up a little earlier to fit it in. I’m not thrilled with that idea because I use that time to write. Perhaps the best options is to remind myself that I don’t need to put my jammies on at 5 p.m. and I can indeed exercise if it is dark outside. Does the Tooth Fairy have a cousin who could wave a wand to help me out here?

I don’t always like my choices, but the more I delay making good ones, the fewer I have remaining. Being a grown-up sucks sometimes. Yep, I gotta get back on that bike to shut this whiny bitch up again.

2 Responses

  1. Sounds to me like you should be doing Burpees instead of that bike! Yea Burpees! (okay… you and I both know I really didn’t mean that… lol)

  2. I’m afraid you might be right – everyone in our house was trying to do them today!

Leave a Reply

