• Follow On Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 590 other followers

Forget Strong Bones

I had a bit of a brain fart over the weekend. Saturday was O.K. I ate a little more than I usually do during the week, but I wasn’t overly alarmed since I try to give myself a little leeway one day a week – nothing outrageous – I was just a little more relaxed.

I came home Saturday from a shin dig content and happy that I spent the afternoon with good friends. Lyle called on my way home to say he went to the store, which pleased me because I wouldn’t need to go later – well in an ideal world. How the man can spend a hundred bucks at the grocery and end up with a bag of carrots, three tubes of toothpaste and a bunch of bananas is beyond me, but whatever.

He always, always buys whole milk when he goes to the store. I don’t know why because all milk gives him horrible diarrhea and migraines, but he says he wants to make pudding. I don’t know maybe it’s a Jell-O brand cleansing program or something. When I see a gallon of whole milk, my world gets a little brighter. God I love it.

Things that are generally safe in my house quickly become condiments to dip, dunk and slug down with the stuff. It’s just milk, and I know a lot of people who are disgusted by whole milk saying it reminds them too much of cream. EXACTLY. I would choose a tall glass of chilled whole milk over the finest French wine. Throw in a couple warm chocolate chip cookies, and I might consider relinquishing parental rights. Well, that example sucks because I do after all have a teenager, but I could think of a host of illicit activities I might consider to be one with the milk.

I avoided the damn gallon jug for 24 hours before the temptation became too great. I could feel the resolve dissipate so I tried to make preparations. I even dumped a jar of chocolate sauce that someone gave me into the trash, but Lyle found the unopened container and pulled it out of the waste basket.

The real test came yesterday when some friends came over to ice skate. What do you do after ice skating? Hello, you drink big mugs of steamy hot cocoa. The chocolate sauce and milk started screaming at me. The hot chocolate I made could not compare to Angelina’s in Paris, but it was damn good. As a side note, if you want to die knowing the stars have aligned, go to Angelina’s for hot chocolate. It’s near the Louvre, but you may forget to go see Mona Lisa if you stop for this creamy liquid heaven first.

Anyway, I nearly mainlined the rest of cocoa and chocolate sauce yesterday (after everyone left of course). I rounded out my evening with two bowls of cereal before finally sending myself to bed.

I think I’m back on earth again, and I need to focus. If anymore of the milk disappears, Lyle will just bring another gallon home, and I really don’t need to start this process all over again.

2 Responses

  1. Isn’t it funny the things that tempt one person and disgust another. I would probably “gag” if I had to drink a glass of whole milk. I have to force myself to drink skim and it has to be on cereal or with toast. Never could I drink a whole glass of just milk. I really struggle getting my “milk” in because it is such a waste of points for me. 🙂

  2. The good and the bad news is that there is plenty of temptation to go around! 🙂 Thanks for sharing. If you don’t like to spend the Points on milk – you may want to try the WW smoothies. I really like them, and they are only one Point. I mix them in a blender with 1/2 can of diet soda and ice – yum. It’s a little weird to consider during the winter, but they are good.

Leave a Reply

